Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Worth Upgrading this Crossbow?

Discussion in 'Amazon' started by Sin-Kii, Apr 5, 2004.

1. Sin-Kii

Sin-Kii IncGamers Member

Worth Upgrading this Crossbow?

(Ladder)

A rare crossbow with attributes:
    5% chance to cast amplified damage when attacking.
    356% Enhanced Damage
    138 to Attack Rating
    5% Mana Stolen per Hit
    11 to Mana

Clearly the enhanced damage is the only bonus of note. If I were to upgrade the weapon to exceptional, and then elite, I believe its maximum damage would come to about 400.

I'm new to the expansion, however, unfamiliar with the "cost" of the runes involved in the class upgrades, and whether their value would amount to more than the final product in this instance. The answer may be obvious, I don't know...but it any case, I could use some advice.

2. Omikron8

Omikron8 IncGamers Member

Is this item simply labelled as "crossbow"?. If it is it will upgrade eventually to an elite form called the gorgon crossbow which has a base speed of zero. Putting on 68% IAS will get you to a 3.5 frame strafe (13 frames for first shot, 3.5 frames for each shot of the rest of the cycle, 25 frames in a second). This should be more than sufficient speed for a weapon that will have massive damage AND amp damage. Pair it with high pierce and you will have power that should beat out a buriza, and more attack rating too!

114-396.72 damage would be damage in elite (gorgon crossbow) form. Quite nice for a 3.5 frame strafe! Now if it isn't a "crossbow" and is for example a heavy crossbow, well that changes everything.

3. Sin-Kii

Sin-Kii IncGamers Member

Yes, a standard crossbow.

Sounds good, then. Thanks for the help.

4. Anidem

Anidem Banned

Eh.. Decent cruels arent that rare so you might wanna save the runes and look for a cruel Cho-ko-nu to upgrade.