Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Windows XP Question

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Soulstones, Mar 20, 2004.

  1. Soulstones

    Soulstones IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Windows XP Question

    Im on a laptop, windows xp, how do I get it so that when I close the computer screen, once you reopen it you have to type in a password
     
  2. gaoneng

    gaoneng IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    right click desktop > properties > "screen saver" tab > "power" button in the "monitor power" box > "advanced" tab > check the box "prompt for password when resume from standby"
     
  3. AeroJonesy

    AeroJonesy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Does Windows XP have any sort of file encrypter on it? Say if I have a word document I want to password protect?
     
  4. gaoneng

    gaoneng IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    IIRC there is built-in password function in Word Xp and above..

    edit: yep under the tools menu > options > "security" tab...
     
  5. Steel_Avatar

    Steel_Avatar IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    There is a built-in password protection for almost every single Office program ever released, not just XP and up.

    XP Pro has an included file encryption system, but I've not yet had cause to use it.
     
  6. gaoneng

    gaoneng IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Well I remember wrong then. :)

    I've not yet had cause to use any of those things either.
     
  7. masterazn

    masterazn Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,025
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, if you had windows 2000, you could just hit ctrl + alt + delete and hit enter. You don't even need to close your lid.
     
  8. AeroJonesy

    AeroJonesy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Hmm, I'm not finding a password protect option under the tools menu. Maybe I'm just dumb.
     
  9. Suicidal Zebra

    Suicidal Zebra IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    How about Tools -> Protect Document... ?
     
  10. gaoneng

    gaoneng IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Nah the protect document thing only prevents readers from editing your document. The encrypt stuff are all in the options dialog.

    Meh if these screenshots can't help you well then too bad. Use winzip instead. :p
    http://www.geocities.com/gaoneng/pw.html
     

Share This Page