Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Windows problem

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Johnny, Mar 3, 2004.

  1. Johnny

    Johnny Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Windows problem

    When windows has been on for a few minutes a 60 second timer starts and after that it reboots.

    What is it doing and how can I stop it from doing it again?
     
  2. DurfBarian

    DurfBarian IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,706
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    467
    It's a bomb. Get out of there while you still can.
     
  3. Cmdr_Adeon

    Cmdr_Adeon IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    A little more info would be useful. Have you recently installed any new software or changed any setting?

    Try running a virus checker and a spyware checker, just in case.

    What version of Windows are you running? If it is 2000 or XP log on then hit ctrl-alt-delete and bring up the task manager. Look at the processes and see if there is something odd using CPU time. If you aren't running programs, the only thing that will be consistently using lots of time is the System Idle Process
     
  4. Maverikk

    Maverikk IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Typical Maccy propaganda...

    Anyway it's probably something with the way the system shuts down or something. You should probably go into system tools and look for something concerning shutting the computer down.
     
  5. Johnny

    Johnny Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    argh stay away from me you evol mac user.

    *waves crucifix and bible*
     
  6. Johnny

    Johnny Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I downloaded internet explorer from kazaa and installed it but a small side effect was my whole windows broke down so I installed it again and now I run 2 windows xp on the same hardrive in the same partition until I can backup all my porn and can reinstall it all but my 250 GB HD wont get here until tommorow so I need to be able to play games til then.
     
  7. DurfBarian

    DurfBarian IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,706
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Wow, thank god you're not using a Mac since they're so hard to use. ;)

    Does Windows have power saver settings that let you control how long it takes for the screen saver to kick in and the monitor to shut off and all that? Maybe you've set your computer to "running off of one D-cell battery" power and it shuts itself down soon in your session.
     
  8. Suicidal Zebra

    Suicidal Zebra IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Sounds suspiciously like Blaster to me.
     
  9. Johnny

    Johnny Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK fixed it.

    Just had to kick some worm butt.
     
  10. masterazn

    masterazn Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,025
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Definetely Blaster.
     
  11. Choogy

    Choogy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Thank God for norton...or whatever virus checker....I had my computer restart on me once...i go and check, i had 3 viruses...
    Go go DELETE!
     

Share This Page