Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

win xp problem i think

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Patch Bug Reports & Suggestions' started by Treadmark, May 9, 2005.

  1. Treadmark

    Treadmark IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    win xp problem i think

    ok this is a wierd little problem when i try to run diablo 2 with the 1.10 patch the game dosen't load, it give me some kind of cd validation time out error after about 10 minutes of doing nothing anyone have any idea on whats going on
     
  2. MoonUnit

    MoonUnit IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    I don't think its a bug, most likely a problem with your cdrom drive. Has D2 worked with previous versions? Need more info to toubleshoot it.
     
  3. Treadmark

    Treadmark IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    it isn't the cd rom drive it ran fine in windows 98 and everything, and before i put the patch on the game would run but would take 5 minutes to get to the first blizzard logo, it like takes some kind of pause before running it

    i'll have specs for the computer when i get home
     
  4. Treadmark

    Treadmark IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    its a 256 ram,pentium 3 597mhz, and i have windows xp pro (v5.1 build 2600),
    the video card is a ati 3d rage pro 8mb
     
  5. RTB

    RTB IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,108
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Your Diablo 2 CD is problably too scratched to be authenticized, you can either buy a new one or make an image file out of it and use that as your 'new' CD.
     
  6. Orphan

    Orphan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    7,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Though, if the CD is pretty badly scratched, it might not be possible to make an image file out of it, as the programs might also have difficulty reading the data. Your probably better off getting a new one (and being careful with it).
     
  7. Treadmark

    Treadmark IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    its a brand new cd i'm gonna call blizzard later today and see if they got an asnwer
     
  8. Orphan

    Orphan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    7,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    The error that you receive, is it something along the lines of:

    "Unable to authenticate disk within the required time limit" Retry, Cancel

    If so, this has been known to happen when you have any third party D2 loading software, specifically No CD Crack installed on your machine, as it disturbs the normal load process.
     
  9. Treadmark

    Treadmark IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    nope its a clean install no sign of a third party program or no cd thing on the computer at all this is really getting on my nerves
     
  10. MoonUnit

    MoonUnit IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Even tho I'm not totally positive about the problem, i concur with the previous posters; it is mostlikely a problem with windows xp and your cdrom drive. From the specs on your comp, I'm not sure if the hardware is XP compatible... Sorry I can't be any more specific.

    My guess is that windows is trying to access the data on the d2 cd and failing, possible from scratches and stuff.

    Did you try running/installing d2 on a different computer and then upgrading to 1.10? Possibly try it on an 98 machine and see if it works.
     
  11. zirilion

    zirilion IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    hence thats why i dont use me cd
    i made an image and read it with a virtual drive :p
    faster load time as well :D

    and no need for using cd and occupying the drive
    stick music in it instead :p
    as well as the origonal disk doent get damaged :D
     

Share This Page