Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Why won't 3 perfect gems transmute?

Discussion in 'Newcomer Forum' started by noneerror, Mar 28, 2004.

  1. noneerror

    noneerror IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Why won't 3 perfect gems transmute?

    I want to use the cube recipe "3 Perfect Gems + 1 magic item." For some reason, it doesn't want to work for me. Can someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong?

    I'm running D2v1.10 (no expansion) with a 45 level Barb in Nightmare. I have tried 3 pgems of different types, then after finding a site that said all 3 had to be the same kind of gem, I tried it with 3 diamonds. I've tried all sorts of different equipment with the pgems from helms to boots to weapons, all magical, most exceptional (none rare) and no luck.

    I've seen nothing to think this is a fake recipe, so why won't this work!?
     
  2. th5418

    th5418 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    9,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is the item magical? Is the item blue? They dont need to be the same type of gem. I dont know what your doing wrong.
     
  3. noneerror

    noneerror IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Always blue.
     
  4. luuuucifer

    luuuucifer IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Can you describe what you mean by they don't work?
    Does everything disappear? Is the cube empty besides the 3 perfect gems and the 1 single blue item?
     
  5. snowieken

    snowieken <img src="http://forums.diabloii.net/images/pal.gi

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    256
    I agree with luuuucifer, we need more information. A bug or some sort that only occurs with you is not very likely, so you must be doing something wrong.

    What exactly are you inserting to transmute, and what exactly is the result?
     
  6. noneerror

    noneerror IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Lately I have been trying a magical (blue) Naga (excep war axe) that I purchased in Act 3. The cube is empty. I put in the Naga, I put in three perfect gems, and then hit the transmute button. Nothing happens. I click the transmute button multiple times, and still nothing happens. Nothing disappears, no flash of light (like for a quest item), everything is still in there. It is just like if you try and transmute anything that isn't a recipe.

    I have often used the cube to crunch gems into more valuable gems, and to create full rej potions. Using the same axe, I put in 3 flawless gems and press the button... presto! A socketed axe.

    I know I don't have hacked/illegal items as this is a solo game on my home computer. I have never even logged onto Battle.net. With this installation of the game on this computer, I have only ever played v1.10.

    Also something else happened I thought was strange last night. I found a Nagelring, but I was already wearing a Nagelring. I could even wear both at the same time if I wanted. I thought that wasn't possible with unique items, like it isn't possible to have two identical quest items. But I simply assume that only applies within a single game that hasn't been exited. Was that correct?
     
  7. Project

    Project IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    For your question on the 2 unique items, Yes you can wear 2 unique/set items at the same time. You cannot have 2 of the same quest item (i.e. Hellforge Hammer/Khalms Will etc.) in your possession at the same time.

    As for your question about the 3 pgem + magical items problem, I am unsure of why it is happening. I myself was told you had to use regular gems or higher to cube items, so I'm just as baffeled as everyone else.

    Hopefully you have gathered a bit of information here.

    --Project
     
  8. krischan

    krischan Europe Trade Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    29,642
    Likes Received:
    801
    Trophy Points:
    416
    From your latest posting I conclude you are playing single player, right ? Some weeks ago another guy had problems with his cube. Maybe your save file is corrupt. Try getting a new cube, but throw your old one on the floor before opening the chest in the halls of the dead, else no new cube will appear.

    Maybe you have to throw away the cube before starting the game, so no cobe at all is in the game. I'm not sure abut that...
     
  9. noneerror

    noneerror IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    You know krischan, that was a really good idea. I replaced my cube, and even reset my computer before starting a new game and getting a replacement. It didn't work. I have the same problem... 3 pgems + 1 magic item still isn't a recipe for me.

    Though I know from past games that if I start a game with a cube and open the chest that the cube is normally in, a cube always appears. I can't pick up a second one, but it is there.

    And yes, it is a single player game.
     
  10. rogier

    rogier IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    98
    what d2 version are you running?
     
  11. ~FaMe~

    ~FaMe~ IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    42
    I think it's because you are not running LoD but classic d2. I'm not sure about the classic cube recipies.
     
  12. snowieken

    snowieken <img src="http://forums.diabloii.net/images/pal.gi

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    256
    This recipe is available in classic, so that's not the problem.
     
  13. Quest For Glory

    Quest For Glory Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Get hold of mpq2k from Phrozenkeep, you'll be able to do a check into the game files with it. I can think of no other reason than that you're probably sitting with a modified patch_d2 file, which is the file (mpq's are cabinets) used to pack in modifications for single player.

    Try and extract the cubemain.txt from the patch_d2.mpq with mpq2k. Open it in excel and see if you can find the recipe. If the recipe is not there, obviously you're playing a mod and the recipe has been deleted for some reason only known to the guy who packed the patch_d2.mpq.

    If this is not the problem, try and backup then delete the patch_d2.mpq, this will make the game read from the d2exp.mpq, and not directly or from patch_d2.mpq. Do you have a data/global/excel folder in your Diablo II directory btw? If you do and you did not make it, delete it or rename it.
     
  14. Orbstu

    Orbstu IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't think so :D

    I play both classic and expansion, the recipe works in LOD but NOT in classic.
     
  15. snowieken

    snowieken <img src="http://forums.diabloii.net/images/pal.gi

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    256
    The recipe works in Classic AND the expansion. Maybe you are experiencing the same "bug" noneerror is suffering from?
     
  16. Subpoena

    Subpoena IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Just a shot in the dark here, but are you sure that you're using PERFECT gems and not FLAWLESS gems? I mean no offense, it's just a trouble-shooter type of questions like, "are you sure it's plugged in?"

    Occum's Razor!
     
  17. noneerror

    noneerror IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    No offense taken, but yes I'm sure they are perfect gems.

    Though I have a lead on why now thanks to Quest For Glory...

    I downloaded "modderx-v115.zip" from Phrozenkeep. <http://phrozenkeep.it-point.com/filecenter/pafiledb.php> It had a bunch of executables in it, one was mpq2k. I don't really understand any of them, and I'm having a hard time figuring them out because they keep crashing.

    I ran D2ModderFull.exe first as it seemed to be the main one. It crashed, but what it said it was doing when it crashed seemed noteworthy... it was 38% done but opening "cubetype.ini". Every time it runs, it crashes right there. Coincidence? I think not.

    It did create a directory with a bunch of files in it before it crashed. One of those files was cubemain.txt. Looking at it, there is a line that says the following:

    3 perfect gems + 1 magic item -> magic item 1 100 4 "any,mag" "gem4,qty=3" "usetype,mag" 100 0

    I also find it noteworthy that the recipes work that are listed before the rune recipes. (The rune recipes obviously won't work for me.) This recipe is listed after those rune recipes, so maybe my version of D2 can't handle this junk code (to it) and stops reading in the rest of the file. I can't try the other ones listed because I don't have 6 pskulls or a soj.

    I ran mpq2k, and it crashed my computer. So the other solid possibility is my mpqs are screwed up. But before I reinstall, can someone tell me how to use these files? I'm afraid I may lose my saved games if I reinstall. And I'm not even sure if these files in 'modderx-v115.zip' will work for me. They (along with everything else I found) is for v1.10 including the LoD expansion. Can someone tell me where to find a useful utility (with link) that will definitely work for D2 v1.10 without the expansion?
    Or at least let me know that yes, what I have should work for me and that it doesn't matter about the expansion?

    BTW: I didn't have any strange data/global/excel directories (or any excel files) in my D2 directory.
     
  18. noneerror

    noneerror IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Actually there was one I could try hidden right at the bottom of the file. It was 3 chip gems + magic weap = socketed mag weapon. It worked. So I guess the theory that it couldn't read in the rune info and stopped reading in all info wasn't correct.
     
  19. noneerror

    noneerror IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    BTW: The primary reason why I wish to get this recipe to work is to create weapons that are ilvl=100. Then turn them into socketed magic weapons. As I understand the game mechanics, the 3pgems +weapon recipe makes a weapon that has a higher level than if Diablo on Hell dropped it. Is this correct?

    Or is ilvl=100 actually ilvl=100% of the level of the item put into it. (Which makes the recipe rather pointless to get working.)
     
  20. Mr_McGee

    Mr_McGee IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    77
    Ilvl = Ilvl :( sry
     

Share This Page