Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Why 17 cold mastery?

Discussion in 'Sorceress' started by Lantto, Feb 10, 2004.

1. Lantto

Lantto IncGamers Member

Why 17 cold mastery?

Ive read a few posts and guides sugesting 17 in CM is it cause its a nice round figure or is there some special feature with -100% res?

2. Canoe

Canoe IncGamers Member

My understanding (and you veterans please correct me as i'm a newb here)
    is that the most you can -res in PVM is -100 which is what 17 CM does...

PVP is a different story... but PVM 17 is the magic number it seems.

3. Sessily

Sessily IncGamers Member

Yes, that's correct. CM at level 17 means that any monster will have -100 resistance, so more points will only increase the damage against resistant monsters. They only constitute about 25% in Hell difficulty, so it is generally considered not worth it.

4. jwfcp

jwfcp IncGamers Member

well thats how it used to be in .09 but now the mastery can reduce below 0% res so there is no reason no to max it.

5. Lantto

Lantto IncGamers Member

The reason I asked was that I'm making a CL/FO sorc and I'm not sure on last points.

20 FO
    20 CL
    20 Lit
    20 LM
    1 Static
    1 ES
    1 Warmth
    1 CM
    1 Armor

After that the resto of the points go either into CM or telekinesis for more usable shield. Waht do you think? Together with some lit charms I could get a pertty decent ES with around 10 points in telekinesis as well.

6. Kyo

Kyo IncGamers Member

If your going for a pure blizzard it was strongly suggested that you should MAX out CM as it was worked out (cannot quite remeber the formula) that it would maximise the effect on blizzard and other cold spells on PvM.

Therefore should be maxing Blzzard, CM and then the synergies in that order.

Really depends on SP u have to spare for a dual treee sorceress.

7. ventilator

ventilator IncGamers Member