Whats the better choice max block w/ dr or ES

uacs

Diabloii.Net Member
Whats the better choice max block w/ dr or ES

I'm coming back to d2 after a solid 2 year break, so I am going to make a new sorc on the new ladder. It's going to be a light sorc, but Im contiplating whether or not to go ES.

The last sorc I made was max block yielding a storm shield. She was a bad *** "tank", PVM teleing and mfing was a breeze especially when BOed with a cta. I can honestly say it was a pleasure to play with her.

My question is, will a ES light build be as effective and enjoyable? Especially for PVM teleing, mfing, and doing key runs. I have never tried ES before, and im scared I'm gonna have to carry around 16 mana pots just to tele through a key run. Is more vita worth losing max block and 35%dr???

Tell me whatcha guys think :whistling:

penco

Diabloii.Net Member
Re: Whats the better choice max block w/ dr or ES

Well, first, what kind of light sorc do you plan on making? If you go with Lightning/Chain Lightning, maxing ES and TK would significantly reduce your damage output.

A "Pure" Chain Lightning sorc with a very basic +15 skills and all synergies maxed does 5-9599 CL and 5 - 23690 Lightning.
An Energy-Shield Chain Lightning sorc would lose about 40 pts maxing ES and TK, bringing damage down to 5 - 5308 CL and 5 - 11273 Lightning. That's about half the damage as the "pure" build. (If you go this route, don't max nova or charged bolt, but make sure to keep the mastery as it adds the biggest damage buff.)

Would the ES build be viable? Certainly. I am currently beating P8 Hell with a Werebear doing only ~4000 damage per hit, with no area-effect attacks. However, if you're going to be MFing, the loss in kill power would be a major setback. For MF, you want to kill as quickly as possible because it is EXTREMELY tedious and boring.

Here are some alternative ideas:

Charged Boltress: