Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

What files do I need to copy off CD to stop lag???

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Community Forum' started by Gabber_Roid, Mar 19, 2005.

  1. Gabber_Roid

    Gabber_Roid IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    What files do I need to copy off CD to stop lag???

    Like clock work, every time I go to Act 5, WP 2 Highlands, my computer freezes while I have to wait for the CD to spin up.

    Funny it's usually only in Act 5.

    So, anyone wanna point me in the right direction, and yes... I tried about 10 difference searches and got nothin :(
     
  2. gismo

    gismo IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Copy the D2MUSIC file from the LOD cd. The lag you get is from the cd spinning up. Once you copy that file you can then play without the cd thus avoid having the cd spin up.

    Load diablo up like normal and once the game is loaded just eject the cd. You will need the cd back in the drive next time you go to load diablo up. Hope that stops your lag for you.
     
  3. BOMxSherrif

    BOMxSherrif Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ...And if you are really lazy you can also just remove the cd once you signed in, that will do the trick ;)
     
  4. Skips

    Skips IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I just turn the music off and have winamp running in the background *shrugs* The Diablo2 music gets on my nerves.
     
  5. MonsterRoast

    MonsterRoast IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I think you need D2xtalk.mpg as well. I may be remembering incorrectly.
     
  6. Dawnmaster

    Dawnmaster IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,209
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    469
    Actually I have the same problem, mostly with act bosses.

    I play in window mode because everything loads faster and moves smoother then.

    I have the music volume set to zero and when I eject my cd and kill an act boss (or shenk for that matter) I get a windows error that there is no cd in my drive.
     
  7. Gabber_Roid

    Gabber_Roid IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Thanks gismo. I copied the 50 or so meg file to the D2 Folder. I don't have to take the CD out of the drive though. I've done a few highland runs and it dosen't spin the drive! :clap: :clap: :clap:

    Oh, and the Talk file was already on my harddrive.
     
  8. BER

    BER IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I never knew that is what caused the lag in the highlands. I always thought it was because of all the monsters moving at once near shenk.

    I use a cd crack program "D2 Loader" eeeeeeeek, i never knew you can do that >______<
     
  9. Omikron8

    Omikron8 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8,171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    People actually listen to the diablo 2 music (not sound effects) ?

    Wow, i personally think that diablo 2's music is boring and inferior compared to the awesome sounds of diablo 1 (cave guitar music, tristram and church music)
     
  10. GameFellow

    GameFellow IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I have this EXACT same problem but I play on an iMac

    Does this work for an Apple iMac computer too?
     
  11. MonsterRoast

    MonsterRoast IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    There's one track from Act 1 I like, but I don't bother listening to it since I don't care for the others. But, the Palace soundtrack I really like. I still turn on the music in that section.
     
  12. gismo

    gismo IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    98
    I don't see why it wouldn't work. Copying the file from the disc to the computer keeps the game from having to read the music from the disc thus avoiding the cd spin up.
     

Share This Page