Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

updating the rig

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Pain Probe, Mar 15, 2004.

  1. Pain Probe

    Pain Probe IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    33
    updating the rig

    I couldn't help myself. I just got a hugh tax refund. I didn't want to buy a new pc so I'm recycling my existing. Here's what I ordered today!

    -Gigabyte 7n400 pro2 mobo
    -athlon xp 3200+ 400MHz FSB!
    -geforce fx 5600
    -1 gig ram DDR400

    I've recycled 1 once before with great success so I'm keeping my fingers crossed again.
     
  2. mysnistaken

    mysnistaken Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how much did it cost?
     
  3. Pain Probe

    Pain Probe IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    33
    $670 not including heat sink/fan and shipping. Probably could have done better but I did all of 2 hours research.
     
  4. Canadia142

    Canadia142 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,973
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice upgrades.

    Once I get a job I'm gonna build my own.
     
  5. mysnistaken

    mysnistaken Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    $670...not too bad...I'm upgrading soon too...got my check for FBLA so I can finally get a new mobo
     
  6. Pain Probe

    Pain Probe IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Dude, Jaco rules!
     
  7. Canadia142

    Canadia142 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,973
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    DAMN STRAIGHT!!!!
     
  8. Savage

    Savage IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Why not overclock a 2500+ to 2.2 Ghz and save yourself a ton of money? Then you could have gotten Corsair TWINX-1024 RAM as well.
     
  9. {KOW}Spazed

    {KOW}Spazed Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    11,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1) He doesn't want to fiddle that much with it.
    2) He would most likely need to get better cooling which costs$$$
    3) He isn't going for the ultimat gaming rig so the Corsair wouldn't add any noticable difference.

    Just some posiblities.
     
  10. swami

    swami Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nah, you can easily crank it up to that level on normal air cooling, no probs. Those athlonXPs are sweet 'clockers.
     
  11. Savage

    Savage IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    1) $215 vs. $80 surely it's worth a little "fiddling".
    2) Wrong, see swami's post.
    3) High quality memory = maximum performance. Doesn't matter what you use your PC for, you can always use more RAM. Besides, now he's running an Athlon 3200 and a decent video card, seems to me like he wants to do some pretty serious gaming.
     
  12. Jimmeh

    Jimmeh IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    whats wrong with the GeForce FX 5950? ;o
     
  13. swami

    swami Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the radeon9800pro ownz it in power, cost, stability, quality, overclockability, modability and thermal efficiency.:surprise:
     
  14. Pain Probe

    Pain Probe IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    33
    The $135 savings isn't worth the risk of shortening the life of the cpu to me. You can tell me how (edit)safe it is but in my mind an extra 135 aint no big deal.

    BTW I got a gig of Crucial brand memory.
     
  15. swami

    swami Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can't find the link at the mo, but i think a processor lifetime was projected to be 15-20 years. Now, if you reduce that lifetime by a ridiculous amount like 75%, you'd still get a good 3-4 years running at full steam.

    Now, you gonna tell me that you are still gonna be using that xp3200 chip in 3-4 years while I'm using my athlon128FX 9000+ processor with QDR3000 RAM?

    hmmm........
     
  16. Fallen_62

    Fallen_62 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    i have the same mobo, good board

    but as people said, save ur money and go with a 2500+... they can oc easily to 3200+ speeds... only thing is u might need a different heatsink setup, retail HSF's suck. i have my 2500+ clocked at a 3200+ but upping the fsb to 200 mhz... i need a new HS though, so i ordered a slk-900, thermaltake (or is it thermalright?) smart fan, and arctic silver's ceramique thermal paste... should lower the temps a good 10°C if i am lucky...

    the only thing with the 2500+ is u will need decent memory... at least PC3200 (which is ddr 400 if i member right...), as that defaults to 200 mhz fsb...

    if u want more help, reference overclockers.com and they would very helpful there... (i have recently become addicted to their forums)
     
  17. Pain Probe

    Pain Probe IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Doesn't matter, I don't want to get into overclocking. If you told me I'd be saving upward of 300-400 I'd be more receptive but for $135? Can't be bothered.

    In 3-4 years silicon may be a thing of the past anyway ;)
     
  18. swami

    swami Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After all said and done, I must point out that all XPs come multi-locked from the factory so scope for overclocking them is limited unless you can get hold of an older chip (pre week 39) or an athlon XP-M 2500+ processor (which are gold at the moment coz they need to run at 1.4v from the outset :surprise: ).

    swami
     
  19. Jimmeh

    Jimmeh IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    ahahahhahahahahahahahhahahah :lol: :lol: :lol:

    in todays terms, owns means beats the **** out of, and ati have always been second best ^^;

    the only thing thats better is the price
     
  20. swami

    swami Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dude, jus takes one look at the Orb. All the top places are radeon9800xts. Power users just wont go near a geForce at the moment.
     

Share This Page