Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Two handed or one handed sword to paladin

Discussion in 'Paladin' started by Demppa, Mar 19, 2004.

1. Demppa

Demppa IncGamers Member

Two handed or one handed sword to paladin

I'm quite a beginner in this game so I don't really know should I use one handed or two handed sword with my paladin(or maybe something else than sword). :scratch:
    Of course I know that paladins have their shields with nice chances to block but those two handed swords are much more effective. Like I already said I am a beginner: My paladin is reaching the 3rd act in normal difficulty.

Waiting for your answer!

2. tk421

tk421 IncGamers Member

Pallys love shields!

You can typically get far better mods using a shield, and the one handed swords are often significantly faster than a big dmg 2 hander. If you hit 3 times as often, giving up some dmg is not a problem. Plus, with Holy Shield active, you can easily and quickly reach max blocking, and your defense is increased significantly. Max (75%) blocking means that you only get hit one quarter of the time. Higher defense means those hits that aren't blocked, have less chance of actually hitting you. Shields mean resists, +skills, Life, extra sockets, etc...

Look around, very few pallys use the 2 hnd swords, they usually leave those to the barbarians...

3. prion

prion IncGamers Member

I encourage you to try a two hand sword build but it is hard. barbs and druids have abilities and skills that paladins don't. It's easy--in fact the highest damage at that level--to do 2H sword in A1 and 2 norm, but as you progress its more difficult to stay alive.