Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

trouble with D2 LOD

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Community Forum' started by traockl, Jun 2, 2008.

  1. traockl

    traockl IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    trouble with D2 LOD

    I fully installed D2 in multiplayer type installation.
    then updataded the installation to D2 LOD:
    ask to insert the expension CD then the play CD then the expension CD again and after that the installation was complete.

    BUT .... because there is a but... when I launch the game (the expension) it tells me that i have to insert the expension CD, while it is still in the CD-ROM drive.

    I dont understand why , I hope someone can help me.

    windows XP SP2 as an OS.
     
  2. Thyiad

    Thyiad Moderator Single Player, D2 Assassin, Barbarian

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    15,309
    Likes Received:
    233
    Trophy Points:
    488
    Re: trouble with D2 LOD

    Cleaned the disk?

    EDIT: yes it makes a difference. Piracy.
     
  3. traockl

    traockl IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: trouble with D2 LOD

    yeah sure the disk is clean and have no scratch on it (I just had it)

    edit:
    for more information when I insert the expension CD it launch the window that propose me to "play diablo II : lord of destruction" or "upgrade installation" from multiplayer to complete installation.

    and when a clic on "play diablo II : lord of destruction" it tell me "please verify that your diablo 2 expension disc is in th cd-rom drive, then clic on 'retry' "
     
  4. traockl

    traockl IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: trouble with D2 LOD

    it is a burned cd from an .iso from an original cd.
    does it makes a difference ?
     
  5. TheNamelessOne

    TheNamelessOne IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Re: trouble with D2 LOD

    I don't know about this.
    But have you tried un-installing it and reinstalling it (the turn it off, and turn it on again method), this works worryingly often in my experience.


     
  6. Melchior3

    Melchior3 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Re: trouble with D2 LOD

    Yes it does indeed. D2 will not run with a copied disc without some kind of modification to the game files, which I believe can't be discussed here.



     
  7. traockl

    traockl IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: trouble with D2 LOD

    ho! this is bad... because the owner of the original expension CD is a friend of mine who doesnt play anymore but he wants to keep it.... dont ask me why I dont even know myself...

    he said that a burned CD was enought to install and that's all. in fact .... it was ;)
     
  8. Orphan

    Orphan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    7,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: trouble with D2 LOD

    If he doesn't transfer the CD to you then you cannot use it, as the game is still in his possession and not yours. This makes it piracy and not something we can help you with here. Check out http://forums.diabloii.net/showthread.php?t=462145 for more information.

    Your best bet is to buy a copy of the game yourself.



     

Share This Page