Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Trojan horse - Online Games anyone having this problem? if

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Community Forum' started by Noite Escura, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. Noite Escura

    Noite Escura IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Trojan horse - Online Games anyone having this problem?

    I played sooner today without issues, then I got out for a while and when I start the game agan I get this message

    Game.exe - Aplication Error
    Aplication not started correctly (oxc0000022). Click Ok to finish.

    Then in sequence AVG would give this :

    Threat Detected!
    File: x:\Diabloii\D2Win.dll
    Threat Name: Trojan Horse PSW.OnlineGames3.AUEH
    Detected on opening

    I didn't offer fixing solution other than moving to quarantine. I found strange I got a trojan without accessing any sites, but anyway, uninstalled and reinstalled everything back, patched via Battle.Net and then *bam* same error again. Is it's a trojan how could it have reinfected the file again so fast? And if it's a false positive (AVG was updated just earlier at 6:50 PM) why the game crashes?
    Anyone using AVG got the same experience?
     
  2. Orphan

    Orphan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    7,264
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Trojan horse - Online Games anyone having this problem?

    I got the same error when I attempted to run the game this morning for a test. It seems like AVG might have updated their definitions or something which is flagging some of the D2 files for some reason. I wonder if any other anti-virus software are picking up anything similar.
     
  3. Tanston

    Tanston IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Re: Trojan horse - Online Games anyone having this problem?

    Same error here. Also with AVG. As I don't goto any shady diablo sites or use any hacks/bots or anything I'm assuming it's a false positive.
     
  4. Vec2267

    Vec2267 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Re: Trojan horse - Online Games anyone having this problem?

    Me too. AVG seems to have an issue ...
     
  5. krischan

    krischan Europe Trade Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    30,237
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Trophy Points:
    416
    Re: Trojan horse - Online Games anyone having this problem?

    Hmm, I have AVG as well. Let's see what the next HD check reveals :scratchchin:.

    I switched off its "resident protection" BTW, it interferes with D&D Online (which I play once in a while with friends), respectively with the Turbine download thingy.
     
  6. MasterBlaster

    MasterBlaster IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Re: Trojan horse - Online Games anyone having this problem?

    I have the same problem, hmmm....

    EDIT: Found a solution


    1- Double click the AVG Internet Security icon
    2- From the Overview, double click (or right click and "Open") the "Resident Shield" tab
    3- Click on "Manage Exceptions"
    4- Click "Add Path"
    5- Find the Diablo II folder on your hard drive and click "Ok" whilst it is selected
    6. If the game doesn't still work, then reinstall after doing the above, as it fixes the problem (this worked for me)

    Credit to a poster on the battle.net forum.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2010
  7. IntelligentX

    IntelligentX IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    3,937
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    346
    Re: Trojan horse - Online Games anyone having this problem?

    I have the same problem too, but I have added the Diablo 2 path into the exception section and it is working again.

    BTW I am using AVG too.
     
  8. smeer

    smeer IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Re: Trojan horse - Online Games anyone having this problem?

    Yes I have the same problem to.
    Adding d2win.dll to the exception will get it to work.
    Searching the internet gets me to believe it's about a false positive.

    Can someone confirm that it's a false positive?

    NB: don't use any tools except Adria (inventory system), but that program I tend to trust

    edit: just for the record: also using AVG
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2010
  9. Morbid

    Morbid IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    77
    Re: Trojan horse - Online Games anyone having this problem?

    Wow, that saved a massive freakout this morning. Thanks!
     
  10. smeer

    smeer IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Re: Trojan horse - Online Games anyone having this problem?

    I can confirm now tat this is a false positive.
    There is a new version of the database available (271.1.1/3121). Simply run update now function and you will get it directly in avg. This will solve the problem.

    NB:
    don't forget to remove the exception if needed
     

Share This Page