Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

TRK's official Question thread WARNING! some OT involved!

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by TemplarRoadkill, Jul 25, 2010.

  1. TemplarRoadkill

    TemplarRoadkill IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    99
    TRK's official Question thread WARNING! some OT involved!

    Hello all and i thank you all in advice for responding to few questions i have about some issues i have!

    First of all: I'm a total imbecile when it comes to computers.. even thou I'm over 31 old and computer games have been very close to my heart since commodore 64, specially few games that keeps the status of "Immortal" like D2 is.
    I love playing and etc but.. When it comes to do with files or something like that, my IQ drops to subzero.. I have to admit that even posting a picture on a website takes me an eternity.. so I apologize ig i mess up when i mail those stashes! I even accidentally deleted a stash with my 2 Oaths when i was supposed to delete a stash i sent to someone :D silly me

    Anyway i just got some quick questions about forum BBcodes as i failed searching info on the website.. I was hoping to find some info here but that page never loaded for me:)

    so.

    -how do I make those spoiler buttons?
    -can you add colors into txt ex. yellow as i can see in some posts?
    -could someone tell me a quick way to record a game session? i saw some cool vids ppl posted on the MFO thread and im eager to do some of my own! (would show you some leet wind druid/ trapper skills :) *yeah right* )

    thx in advice


    /cheers TRK
     
  2. Thyiad

    Thyiad Moderator Single Player, D2 Assassin, Barbarian

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    15,316
    Likes Received:
    238
    Trophy Points:
    488
    Re: TRK's official Question thread WARNING! some OT involved!

    {spoiler}text{/spoiler}
    {highlight}text{highlight}

    Replace { and } with [ and ]

    Fraps is what I use as the recorder (free for 30seconds, registered is unlimited), use Klite codecs and Virtualdub to reduce Fraps' file sizes. I use full compression on both video and sound. MP4 video, MP3 low bit rate on audio.

    I imagine there are other recording programs etc out there.

    EDIT:
    @ Thomh - try recording to a different hard drive if you can. I found that helped on my old systems. Doesn't seem to make a difference (IE not needed) on this machine though (dual core 8600 GT 512 Mb gfx card 4Mb ram).
     
  3. jamesixgun

    jamesixgun IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,310
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    349
    Re: TRK's official Question thread WARNING! some OT involved!

    Ok.

    spoiler buttons: wrap [*spoiler]and[*/spoiler] around the text (omitting the *).

    Yellow text is achieved with [*highlight] [*/highlight] (again, omit the *).

    As to recording game sessions, I think many people use FRAPS, but being a Mac user, I really have no idea, and can give no recommendations or instructions.

    Hope this helps!

    Edit: Thyiad PWNAGE. Oh well. At least I was upstaged by the best! :D
     
  4. Thomh

    Thomh IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: TRK's official Question thread WARNING! some OT involved!

    You just quote this post and look at my code:)

    Here is a spoiler

    Code:
    Here is a spolier with a table underneath.
    

    Text in yellow. I have no idea about other colours, though.

    As for recording, I can`t help you. I`ve tried 4 different recording programs and my computer starts lagging like crazy no matter what I do. Windowed mode, no sound, full screen, turning off everything else but the recording program and D2. It simply won`t do what I want:)

    Edit: Well, I got double pawned. J6G, you`re faster than me:(
     
  5. Fabian

    Fabian IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4,028
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    277
    Re: TRK's official Question thread WARNING! some OT involved!

    I've been using Growler Guncam to record videos, I believe it was maareek's recommendation. Quite like that program, might want to give it a shot.
     
  6. TemplarRoadkill

    TemplarRoadkill IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    99
    Re: TRK's official Question thread WARNING! some OT involved!

    hehhe thx for the input! ill try Fraps and Growler Guncam, maybe ill give it a shot tonight :)
     
  7. Greebo

    Greebo IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Re: TRK's official Question thread WARNING! some OT involved!

    Oh dear. A computer with 4 Mb of RAM, Thy? I'm so so sorry... ;)

    Actually, it just shows as highlighted. Different colors for different skins.

    This is the website I use as reference. Not every code will work here of course.

    --Greebo


     
  8. In the name of Zod

    In the name of Zod IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    468
    Re: TRK's official Question thread WARNING! some OT involved!

    Opportunity to see if noparse works.

    [noparse]value[/noparse]

    Edit: Awesome it does :)

    Edit 2: I wonder if noparse noparse works. That should show you how it works without having to quote me.

    [noparse][noparse]value[/noparse][/noparse]

    Edit 3. size=+1 works too.

    Apparently they've removed color due to abuse from us patrons. My bet is secret messages written in red ink.

    Lets see if this works: [var]$postbit[/var]

    Nope, had to end somewhere, more [bug]23096[/bug]
    PHP:
    $myvar 'Hello World!';
    for (
    $i 0; \$i 10; \$i++)
    {
    echo 
    $myvar "\n";
    Click Me!

    post works, here's a list of all the might works tags:
    BB Code List
    , , [color][size][font]
    ,
    ,
    [url][thread][post][list][img][video][code][php][html][quote][noparse][attach][bug][note][screencast][var][warning]​
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2010
  9. Thyiad

    Thyiad Moderator Single Player, D2 Assassin, Barbarian

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    15,316
    Likes Received:
    238
    Trophy Points:
    488
    Re: TRK's official Question thread WARNING! some OT involved!

    What sort of file sizes does that result in, Fabian? Does it require much compression after?

    Well I have two machines next to each other each with 4Mb, does that help? This is my browsing machine, the other one has a better gfx card. Both run the most tricky thing I play (CoX) with the gfx turned up. I don't exactly need a quad core 16mb to run d2. :D



     
  10. Greebo

    Greebo IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Re: TRK's official Question thread WARNING! some OT involved!

    Well, to be honest, I was just alluding to your mistakenly typing M instead of G. Not as funny now as it was yesterday for some reason... :wink:

    @In the name of Zod:

    Nice job checking out what works.

    --Greebo


     
  11. Thyiad

    Thyiad Moderator Single Player, D2 Assassin, Barbarian

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    15,316
    Likes Received:
    238
    Trophy Points:
    488
    Re: TRK's official Question thread WARNING! some OT involved!

    *facepalm* And yet again I show my age when my first computer had 64k (not a typo) of memory. Half RAM and half ROM.

    Meg, Gig.... close. Ish. *cries*



     
  12. TemplarRoadkill

    TemplarRoadkill IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    99
    Re: TRK's official Question thread WARNING! some OT involved!

    D2 doesn't want to load up when i run Growler Guncam.. i even tried alt-tab and start the program and it turns the game off :p anyway just loading fraps before starting troubleshooting guncam up!
     

Share This Page