Latest Diablo 3 News
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Transfer Gomule/ATMA stashes to new computer

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by drmalawi, Jul 29, 2017.

  1. drmalawi

    drmalawi Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,298
    Likes Received:
    939
    Trophy Points:
    188
    Hi

    I am about to get myself a new gaming computer.

    I would like to transfer my Gomule stashes to the new computer, how can that be done? Just copy/paste?

    Also, I would like to do backups now and then, is copy/paste to/from an external memory enough?
     
  2. DiabloTwoinDC

    DiabloTwoinDC Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,089
    Likes Received:
    1,551
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Copy/paste will do it for ATMA. I'm pretty sure GoMule is the same.
     
    drmalawi likes this.
  3. T72on1

    T72on1 Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    4,891
    Likes Received:
    3,990
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Yes, should do the trick.
     
  4. Noodle

    Noodle Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    9,297
    Likes Received:
    623
    Trophy Points:
    235
    You can always zip them and email them to yourself. That way you'll have a backup on your email provider's server.
     
  5. drmalawi

    drmalawi Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,298
    Likes Received:
    939
    Trophy Points:
    188
    @Noodle in the era of cloud services such as Dropbox, do people still e-mail themselves? ;)
     
  6. Noodle

    Noodle Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    9,297
    Likes Received:
    623
    Trophy Points:
    235
    Lazy people do!
     
  7. coju

    coju Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,806
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    174
    I just started using Dropbox only because the files were too big to email to myself.
     
    drmalawi likes this.
  8. Friiser

    Friiser Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    257
    Trophy Points:
    187
    ok, so instead of "installing" a new GoMule download, simply copy your existing GoMule (folder an all?), store it somewhere (USB drive), get the new computer, then paste from the USB drive to the new computer and it should work (no reinstall)?
     
  9. Albatross

    Albatross Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    528
    Trophy Points:
    175
    Yes, it's a simple program which doesn't require installation or setup. It's likely it will "forget" where your stashes and characters are so you'll have to re-add them, this could happen if the directory structure on your new computer is different.

    The characters you'll of course also move. Depending on your game version those might or might not be in the diablo 2 folder (the save directory).
     
    Friiser likes this.
  10. pharaoh

    pharaoh Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Another option is to set Dropbox, Google Drive, etc up so it syncs a folder on your computer. Then copy your saves and stashes to a subfolder in this folder. Use regedit to point D2 to this save location (it should be "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Blizzard Entertainment\Diablo II\Save Path" for v1.13 and earlier, and "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Blizzard Entertainment\Diablo II\NewSavePath" for v1.14). You can do this on multiple machines, allowing you to maintain progress across these machines. It has the side benefit that you've always got an up-to-date backup of your characters and stashes.

    If you do this, just be careful not to have the same file(s), whether character or stash, open at the same time on different machines, or you can potentially run into problems.
     
    Zyr, Friiser and Albatross like this.
  11. Friiser

    Friiser Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    257
    Trophy Points:
    187
    Thanks for the help Albatross and pharaoh. I'll probably not ever have two machines running, but I'll keep that in mind if I ever do. I just realized that the gomule on my work PC (from a long time ago, has been copied as part of my documents from multiple computers) has 11.5 million gold in it, lol.
     

Share This Page