Torn on what kind of WW barb to make...

ArcTeryx

Diabloii.Net Member
Torn on what kind of WW barb to make...

Basically, I really don't know what kind of WW barb to make. I'm thinking that my two options are a pole barb (EBotD Giant Thresher) and a sword/shield barb (EBotD CB + Phoenix). I have two questions that would help me decide...

1. How does the damage compare between a EBotD Giant Thresher and a 1-handed EBotD CB with a Phoenix shield. The only reason I'm asking this is because the shield adds 350-400% damage. Would this help make up the gap in damage against a GThresher?

2. Are the differences in weapon speed more or less negligible? If I were to go 1-handed, would a beserker axe be the way to go over a CB for this reason?

Thanks a lot for the help. I'm new to the barbarian class and I can't wait to get started. Any other tips are appreciated.

maxusmag

Diabloii.Net Member
I have a lvl 80 ww barb with a ebotd thunder maul.

i have no issues at all unless i am fighting undead (no life leech from certain undead) this does cause problems

i have enough life leech that i can pretty much handle anything (except undead) if you do a 2 handed weapon and no shield.

your warcries are very very important in keeping you alive. mana leech and life leech are a must.

after shout i have about 9.7k defense.

Clay bizzle

Diabloii.Net Member
Well even with Phoenix your 1 hander won't have the damage of the EBoTD GT. Phoenix doesn't have good blocking or really any good mods that a WW barb should look for. If you are really looking for a compromise between the two then I would say use the EBoTD CB and SS for a shield when you need it, then if you feel the situation calls for more damage and doesn't require blocking/resists... Then use the CB two handed.

Dahmer

Diabloii.Net Member
If you're going for 2h weapon, use ebotd war pike or ebotd ghost spear.