Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

To format or not to format...

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by MadMachine, Sep 11, 2006.

  1. MadMachine

    MadMachine IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    To format or not to format...

    Since my pop got his Dell computer last week, he gave me his old 600 mHz to use, which is actually a leap from my own computer (300 mHz - but completely formatted and I thought I had the drivers but now I don't).

    The thing is a mess - it's got Norton Antivirus Firewall caked in every orifice, not to mention a whole load of other horribly RAM consuming programs that end up making the machine take 20 minutes to fully start up. That's not to mention the spyware and adware that I'm sure is all over it too.

    I'm wondering now if it's even WORTH formatting the thing, considering the bother that it would be - finding out all the drivers, backing up, making sure everything is where it's supposed to be and I'm not missing anything, then going on with it.

    Pros - The computer will (theoretically) start faster.
    All the tripe that bugger it up on occasion (other than the fast that it's a Windows OS) will be gone.
    I can outfit it with better programs from the ground up.

    Cons - It'll be a lot of bother.
    It's a P 600 and I'm planning on a new computer myself once I've got the cash.

    What do you think?
     
  2. superdave

    superdave IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    12,416
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    472
    it should take only a few hours tops to format, add an os and find the drivers online...do it.
     
  3. Sir EvilFreeSmeg

    Sir EvilFreeSmeg Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    15,434
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Reformat it before it makes you mad enough to kill it
     
  4. PatMaGroin

    PatMaGroin IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4,846
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    466
  5. MadMachine

    MadMachine IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    I was leaning that way too - the drivers will be a bit easier to find than my own computer... a 6 year old HP Pavilion. I'm thinking of demoting THAT one to a old DOS gaming station. I can't even find the specs on it anymore to actually figure out what drivers it needs.
     
  6. Stompwampa

    Stompwampa IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    You've got nothing to lose. really.
     
  7. Merick

    Merick IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,862
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    I never had to mess with any drivers stuff when I reformated. What's the deal?
     
  8. superdave

    superdave IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    12,416
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    472
    the deal is that "plug and play" on older machines is a joke...he will likely have to download network/sound/video drivers...why do they have to write so small on the damn cards...i can never read them...i usually have to pull them out and use a glass to find out what the card is.
     
  9. MadMachine

    MadMachine IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    When you format the computer, you need to have all the drivers for your hardware so that your computer will recognize everything when you start it up again.

    i.e. I don't have all the drivers for my own computer and am having trouble finding them - in particular the driver for my CD-ROM drive. No driver for that, and it won't read the Win 95 install CD because the computer doesn't 'know' that the CD ROM drive exists.
     
  10. ael

    ael IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    467
    I think that runamok washingmachine of yours can handle XP. Then you would have no trouble with the drivers at all. :wink:
     
  11. Module88

    Module88 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    466
    I don't even know why you bother asking. Of course you should reformat it.

    Even my old junk computer (which took about 6 minutes to boot up, and yes, I timed that) ran a HELL of a lot faster after reformatting. Definitely worth it.
     
  12. bg1256

    bg1256 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,436
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Reformat it. A free computer is worth the hassle.
     
  13. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    run msconfig and disable everything in startup
    then use notrons uninstall, that should speed things up alot
    (putting notron on a 600mhz machine is just asking for problems)
    that will make a big difference

    sometimes its easy to fix, but when its that messed up formating is better

    be sure to burn the drivers on a cd and keep them for the future
     
  14. Dondrei

    Dondrei IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36,855
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Yes, reformat. Otherwise you have no idea how much crap is built up on it. Saves a defrag too.
     
  15. MadMachine

    MadMachine IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Should I just burn my whole windows/system32 directory to make sure I have all the right drivers? I'm having a little trouble finding all of them online.
     
  16. Module88

    Module88 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Just go into system32 and copy the folder "drivers." That should do it.
     
  17. Dondrei

    Dondrei IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36,855
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Would that even work? I suppose you could install the drivers manually, but you'd have to know what went with what.
     
  18. DurfBarian

    DurfBarian IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,706
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Reformatting is the only way you're going to get Ubuntu on there. :badteeth:
     
  19. bg1256

    bg1256 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,436
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    pwned.

    you should at least give it a try! :rolleyes:
     
  20. MadMachine

    MadMachine IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Don't worry, I'm pretty much resigned to it - now my sister just needs to get her crap off it and then I can nuke the sucker.
     

Share This Page