Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

The game freeze every 2 min

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Patch Bug Reports & Suggestions' started by Guitarsmoke, Sep 17, 2006.

  1. Guitarsmoke

    Guitarsmoke IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The game freeze every 2 min

    I have absolutely no idea how to solve this. When I play D2: LoD it freezes the computer for 15 seconds every 2-3 minute. The game music keeps going like normal but different sounds are being repeated (like a bowshot or a dead enemy). I have a 1,6 Ghz processor, 256mb SyncDRAM and a GeForce 2 MX and should be enough to play the game. I have updated all drivers I could find, I have all video settings on low and no programs running in the background (like an antivirus or so). I used to play a lot of D2 on this same computer a couple of years ago, but now it's hopeless. I have more then 4 Gb of space available aswell on my only drive.

    What to do? Do you recognize this problem? I have tried to reinstall the game a few times aswell..

    Thanks!
     
  2. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    are you plaing single player, bnet or open?

    256mb ram is the minimum for xp to run properly
    sd ram is cheap now, you should pick up another 256mb 133 stick

    check for viruses/spyware, something could be eating your processor while your trying to play
    ad-aware, spybot, hijackthis are good to run whenever you feel something going wrong
     
  3. Guitarsmoke

    Guitarsmoke IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thank you for replying!

    single only. i've been downloading 2 more antivirusprograms to scan the computer into every detail, however that didn't helped me. several infections couldn't be taken care of, and maybe that's the issue. after looking around on a few forums a lot of people told me that new drivers to my graphiccard could be devestating to such an old game. right now i'm trying to find old drivers for my geforce.

    please keep replying in case you might have the cure!
     
  4. helvete

    helvete IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    6,762
    Likes Received:
    838
    Trophy Points:
    534
    I had the game freeze (whole comp, actually) due to overclocking it too much.

    As already said, Windows XP is eating most of your RAM, and upgrading to 512MB is strongly suggested. Check what type, and how much RAM your motherboard can hold, and then get as much of it as possible (it's pretty cheap now, even for RAM that used to be expensive). Possibly, your motherboard can hold 512MB sticks (or more), and then you're probably better off ditching that old stick.

    But be careful so that you don't buy RAM that doesn't fit/work in your computer.
     
  5. Guitarsmoke

    Guitarsmoke IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    okay, thanks man! btw, "helvete". pretty damn evil word ;)
     
  6. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    what os do you use xp or 9x/me?

    on the older geforce cards the latest drivers can cause problems
    i have a geforce4ti4600, and dual boot me/xp
    drivers 5304 on me work best
    drivers 8185 on xp work good

    me still beats xp on 3dmark :undecided:
     
  7. Guitarsmoke

    Guitarsmoke IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I use XP.

    So I tried 81.85 and several other old drivers, but none helped me. Is there any way to display somekind of process-history or memory usage log or something similar, so I can see what program that is the memory leech every second minute if you get what I mean?
     
  8. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    task manager, process tab will give current stats (updated every 2-5secs)

    for logging try event viewer
    start > Run > %SystemRoot%\system32\eventvwr.msc /s
    that gives errors ect.. that programs get that you normally dont see

    ill check into it more
     
  9. Guitarsmoke

    Guitarsmoke IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I ordered 256 RAM yesterday, se the problem should be solved within this weekend. Thanks everybody for taking your time! :D:D
     

Share This Page