Latest Diablo 3 News
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

The battle between Diablo and my computer

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by Sir Lister of Smeg, Nov 14, 2006.

  1. Sir Lister of Smeg

    Sir Lister of Smeg Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    The battle between Diablo and my computer

    I've managed to play the game lately, but with some difficulties. I tried playing both in linux (using wine on Ubuntu Edgy) and in windoze (2000), to my surprise the verdict was that the former ran better.

    In windowed mode, both ran okay, but I prefer to play fullscreen. There I noticed that on linux it ran horribly under direct3d, while in windoze it was playable, but barely. Switching to directdraw did not change anything in windows, but in linux that did improve a lot, the game ran smoothly, apart from sound not always being a hundred percent correct. I also tried using a wrapper to use glide mode in opengl, but that caused the game to crash on both oses (of course linux was merely a critical failure giving an error message of assertion failure (?, I don't remember)) c0000005, which, I gathered from googling, could basically mean anything, on windows it was a BSOD followed by a reboot and so far I did not yet change the settings to show the BSOD until I press a key, but it's likely to be the same message). From forums (one in English on the Amazon Basin, and another one in German), I understood that that wrapper should lead to a huge increase in performance. Has anyone else had success using that wrapper?

    On another note, my computer should be able to handle the game easily I think. It consists of an nforce2 ultra motherboard with an athlon xp 2500+ (barton) cpu, 1 GB of ddr ram (with fsb set at only 166 instead of the 200 it's capable of), an ATI 9600XT graphics card with 256 Mb of memory, I do have two SATA drives in RAID0 configuration (that works better than the normal SATA driver). Unfortunately I'm still using the onboard (MCP-T) sound. Furthermore the cdrom drive used is a NEC 3520A DVD-burner.

    I did do a windows 2000 reinstall not so long ago, and before that it had been running okay, now I've noticed that it does occassionally for no apparent reason switch back to the desktop and I tried using the launcher I used before (for putting the process priority to high instead of the default normal), but that this time only resulted in my mouse freezing every so often. I turned of the music, with little to no effect. Since I usually do have a browser open, I can not turn off the firewall (zonealarm) and spybot, since I don't tend to surf porn sites while playing, I could turn off the virus scanner (antivir) I guess. But again, everything worked fine for a long while before the reinstall (which was prompted by cdrom driver problems, probably caused by starforce) with everything running. Also note, that the browser I tend to have open is not one of those with memory leaks (Mozilla, Internet Explorer), but a good one (Opera), which does tend to have a very small memory footprint as well. I did follow the instructions on the Blizzard site to put the swap to twice my memory (even though it never gets used normally), I noticed that even then, using /fps that I get about one third of normal and swap memory each being used, again on both oses.

    I also noticed that my monitor is running only at 60 Hz when playing fullscreen (again both oses as opposed to what I thought at first), which although it's now an LCD, is still too low for my taste (head and eye ache result), how do I up it to 85 Hz (the highest it's capable of at 800x600)?

    Also a question for the linux users, how do I switch to the desktop when running Diablo fullscreen and having the super key bound to the windows key so I can use alt to pick things up? (I'm using gnome, but am certainly willing to try out KDE or XFCE for this purpose if you have an answer for one of those) I did manage to use the calculator key on my multimedia keyboard for this, but what method should I use to do so without immediately opening another application?

    Also, has anyone succesfully managed to run multiple instances of the game under either windows 2000 or linux-wine under another account, probably in windowed mode or from a terminal? I want to try the cheesy hellforge rushing. I did try to run ATMA while running the game as well (no hotmuling so far, but just having the game still running in it's startup screen so as not to have to go through the startup sequence again), and it resulted in Wine crashing. Trying to start another instance of Diablo while one was running without switching user resulted in a message that only one copy may run at a time and in that copy crashing.

    On yet another note, how do I run a textmod (I'm using the runeword mod) in linux in it's own directory. In windows there is a "start in" option in the shortcut properties for this purpose, but how do I do it in linux (again in gnome or another desktop environment)?

    Finally (I think), although ATMA runs under wine, the drop calculator causes it to crash, as I reported also in the ATMA thread. But another issue I've noticed is difficulty selecting the items, the pop-up text is blocking me from selecting the item, unless the cursor approaches from below. Has anyone got a work-around?

    But of course the previous one was not the final yet, how should I run Flavie? Under wine or straight under linux? I did try the latter, since I did not feel like trying to install java in wine, but did not manage to run it, has anyone had success either way?

    I guess that sums up my Diablo computer sorrows for now any help is very much appreciated.

    PS: I do have a copy of windows 98 as well somewhere, but since I'm using sata drives I don't think there's much of a point in even trying that (apart from the fact that I need to run Age Of Empires II all the time to make it crash-resistant). Furthermore, I do have windows vista release candidate 2 as well (perfectly legally downloaded from the microsoft site), but I'd have to reinstall that every month (it does not recognize itself as a legal copy for some reason)
     
  2. Randall

    Randall Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    For Flavie,

    Starting from the newest beta version (1.5) it is capable of directly reading of d2 characters and atma stashes. (without the need of ATMA and 100% pure java)

    This part is still in "beta" though and should not be trusted to much (The report I mean, it should not affect your characters/stashes)

    But that means that for linux/mac it could directly run under linux or max OS and create reports from characters / stashes.

    How to run from wine I do not know (or even if it runs). You will also need atma in that case.

    Randall

    PS.
    Strange that D2 runs horribly on such a machine though.

    My old computer (800Mhz AMD, 384MB ram, Matrox G400Max) has no real problems running D2. But I still run win98, mainly for performance.

    With only very few exceptions I have no problem running in 3D mode
    I've tried the 2D mode, that gave me lesser graphics for a close to equal performance.
     
  3. Sir Lister of Smeg

    Sir Lister of Smeg Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Thanks, I did try running both Flavie 1.5 and 1.4 in linux (using java -jar Flavie.jar from the terminal while in the Flavie directory) and in both cases it did not work. Flavie 1.4 exited without error messages, 1.5 gave me the following:

    Code:
    java.io.FileNotFoundException: d2111\misc.txt (No such file or directory)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:106)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:66)
            at java.io.FileReader.<init>(FileReader.java:41)
            at randall.d2files.D2TxtFile.<init>(D2TxtFile.java:79)
            at randall.d2files.D2TxtFile.readAllFiles(D2TxtFile.java:38)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.<init>(Flavie.java:198)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.main(Flavie.java:1001)
    java.io.FileNotFoundException: d2111\armor.txt (No such file or directory)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:106)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:66)
            at java.io.FileReader.<init>(FileReader.java:41)
            at randall.d2files.D2TxtFile.<init>(D2TxtFile.java:79)
            at randall.d2files.D2TxtFile.readAllFiles(D2TxtFile.java:39)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.<init>(Flavie.java:198)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.main(Flavie.java:1001)
    java.io.FileNotFoundException: d2111\weapons.txt (No such file or directory)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:106)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:66)
            at java.io.FileReader.<init>(FileReader.java:41)
            at randall.d2files.D2TxtFile.<init>(D2TxtFile.java:79)
            at randall.d2files.D2TxtFile.readAllFiles(D2TxtFile.java:40)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.<init>(Flavie.java:198)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.main(Flavie.java:1001)
    java.io.FileNotFoundException: d2111\UniqueItems.txt (No such file or directory)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:106)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:66)
            at java.io.FileReader.<init>(FileReader.java:41)
            at randall.d2files.D2TxtFile.<init>(D2TxtFile.java:79)
            at randall.d2files.D2TxtFile.readAllFiles(D2TxtFile.java:41)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.<init>(Flavie.java:198)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.main(Flavie.java:1001)
    java.io.FileNotFoundException: d2111\SetItems.txt (No such file or directory)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:106)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:66)
            at java.io.FileReader.<init>(FileReader.java:41)
            at randall.d2files.D2TxtFile.<init>(D2TxtFile.java:79)
            at randall.d2files.D2TxtFile.readAllFiles(D2TxtFile.java:42)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.<init>(Flavie.java:198)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.main(Flavie.java:1001)
    java.io.FileNotFoundException: d2111\MagicPrefix.txt (No such file or directory)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:106)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:66)
            at java.io.FileReader.<init>(FileReader.java:41)
            at randall.d2files.D2TxtFile.<init>(D2TxtFile.java:79)
            at randall.d2files.D2TxtFile.readAllFiles(D2TxtFile.java:43)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.<init>(Flavie.java:198)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.main(Flavie.java:1001)
    java.io.FileNotFoundException: d2111\MagicSuffix.txt (No such file or directory)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:106)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:66)
            at java.io.FileReader.<init>(FileReader.java:41)
            at randall.d2files.D2TxtFile.<init>(D2TxtFile.java:79)
            at randall.d2files.D2TxtFile.readAllFiles(D2TxtFile.java:44)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.<init>(Flavie.java:198)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.main(Flavie.java:1001)
    java.io.FileNotFoundException: d2111\Runes.txt (No such file or directory)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.open(Native Method)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:106)
            at java.io.FileInputStream.<init>(FileInputStream.java:66)
            at java.io.FileReader.<init>(FileReader.java:41)
            at randall.d2files.D2TxtFile.<init>(D2TxtFile.java:79)
            at randall.d2files.D2TxtFile.readAllFiles(D2TxtFile.java:45)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.<init>(Flavie.java:198)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.main(Flavie.java:1001)
    java.lang.NullPointerException
            at randall.d2files.D2FileReader.getCounterBoolean(D2FileReader.java:82)
            at randall.d2files.D2FileReader.getCounterInt(D2FileReader.java:155)
            at randall.d2files.D2TblFile.<init>(D2TblFile.java:64)
            at randall.d2files.D2TblFile.readAllFiles(D2TblFile.java:31)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.<init>(Flavie.java:199)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.main(Flavie.java:1001)
    java.lang.NullPointerException
            at randall.d2files.D2FileReader.getCounterBoolean(D2FileReader.java:82)
            at randall.d2files.D2FileReader.getCounterInt(D2FileReader.java:155)
            at randall.d2files.D2TblFile.<init>(D2TblFile.java:64)
            at randall.d2files.D2TblFile.readAllFiles(D2TblFile.java:32)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.<init>(Flavie.java:199)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.main(Flavie.java:1001)
    java.lang.NullPointerException
            at randall.d2files.D2FileReader.getCounterBoolean(D2FileReader.java:82)
            at randall.d2files.D2FileReader.getCounterInt(D2FileReader.java:155)
            at randall.d2files.D2TblFile.<init>(D2TblFile.java:64)
            at randall.d2files.D2TblFile.readAllFiles(D2TblFile.java:33)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.<init>(Flavie.java:199)
            at randall.flavie.Flavie.main(Flavie.java:1001)
    
    After hearing a lot of people say that java is great for interoperability, I must say I'm a bit surprised about this. Since quite a few (if not all) of the messages seem to be related to opening files, I must add that the filesystem I ran it on was fat32.
    (In windows the 1.5 version did run btw, but as you already stated, it did not notice everything, in particular all the facets were dumped into being poison/level up, gems, runes, runewords, potions, and others are missing, for the rest everything seems to be in order)

    That said, has anyone else got any ideas as to my computer problems?
     
  4. Cygnus

    Cygnus Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    For the Java problem, try using the same JVM version that you use on Windows. Java apps are very much usable across different operating systems, but not necessarily across java versions.

    The file system is immaterial. As far as the application is concerned, it's making a library function call, the file system is a low-level abstraction. No reason why it shouldn't work with ext3 or whatever it is you usually use on linux.
     
  5. Krikke

    Krikke Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    102
    As stated many times before the D3D mode was implemented hastily into Diablo 2 and is far inferior to DDraw (D2D) in Diablo 2.

    Never tried a wrapper on linux.
    Im running nforce2, xp1700+, 1GB DDR RAM, fsb 133, Radeon 9800XT, 2 sata drives and 1 pata. Onboard sound and LG DVD-RW. The game is quite playable.
    KDE works quite well in fullscreen as you can still use Alt as the Superkey. This is possible because you can disable global shortcuts for a particular application. Then you can use the shortcuts to change desktop to switch out of the game. I have mine bound to Alt+F1-F4 for desktops 1-4.
    Haven't done that.
    Use "Working Directory" or cd to the directory before inwoking Wine.
    The Drop Calc doesn't work under Wine. To get rid of the item popups there is an option for that in the menu. To see the items' stats show the item property window.
    I never got to run flavie under linux but it worked on a virtual machine (VMWare) with 2000 installed on it. You can run VMWare under Linux.
     
  6. Randall

    Randall Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Stupid thing is windows and linux uses different characters between directories ('/' and '\'). Java offers a nice variable for that (which changes to the correct one for the current OS), I most likely was to lazy to use it.

    The good news is, it's most likely easy to fix.
    The bad news is, at the moment I don't have linux installed myself, so it might take a bit of time for me to test.

    Randall



     
  7. Sir Lister of Smeg

    Sir Lister of Smeg Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Now I feel stupid I did not think about that. I do want to add that you could try Cygwin, which is a unix-shell under windows. Btw, how does it interoperate with MacOsX? What is used for the directories there, `/' or `\'?

    As for changing it, if the only places backslashes are used are directories, then it is very easy to change, there are even some editors which can do it. If there are however other occurences of backslashes, then one has to go over all of the code by hand.



     
  8. Randall

    Randall Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Can you check if it's now working on linux ?
    (I have not tested it under linux)
     
  9. Sir Lister of Smeg

    Sir Lister of Smeg Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    It does seem to work. :worship:

    It still gives an error message, but I think that has now to do with using the directory `Diablo II' within the path for the txt files. The space is problematic. I'm going to test moving the txt files to another directory and see what happens.

    And on another note, does Flavie still need to call Atma for the txt files (I'm now generating the txt files by hand in Atma) or is it now as you planned reading straight from the d2s and d2x files?

    Edit: I tested by moving the txt files (and only the txt files) to another directory and it worked fine.



     
  10. pharaoh

    pharaoh Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    168
    With an LCD monitor, you shouldn't get flicker. With a CRT, especially those designed to operate at a high refresh rate, the phosphors that light up when hit by the electron beam fade very quickly. If the refresh rate is too low, they are not freshed fast enough, and thus they fade enough for the eye to perceive it as flicker. With an LCD screen, on the other hand, there are no electron beams. The pixels are simply set to particular color/intensity levels, and maintain this until the next refresh, when they are set to a new value (possibly the same as the original). Thus, if running an LCD, it's generally best to set the refresh rate lower. This is because of the way that most (not all) video memory works. Three 'devices' typically access it: the CPU, the graphics processor, and the video refresh circuitry. Higher refresh rates demand that a higher proportion of the RAM's total I/O bandwidth be allocated to the refresh circuitry, leaving less for the other devices on the bus (ie, decreased performance). If the card uses DRAM instead of SRAM, there will be another device in the mix, used to refresh the RAM's contents (since DRAM transistors lose their charge); this is why reducing the memory refresh rate on older computers could yield faster memory performance (at the risk of less reliable memory, depending on how much it was lowered).

    Shearing, on the other hand, is common both with LCD and CRT monitors. As long as you've got your video adapter set up to wait for the retrace cycle, this shouldn't be an issue.

    Have you looked into your lighting arrangement as a source of eye strain, especially if you're under fluorescent lights? Some people are sensitive to flickering produced by some of these lights (particularly the ones with a regular socket form factor, designed to replace standard incandescent bulbs).
    If I remember correctly, the Win9x family doesn't use true protected-mode drivers for disk I/O; it thunks down to the BIOS level. Thus, as long as there is support for this (and if it's a motherboard controller, there most certainly is), it should work. However, the fact you've got a RAID setup likely will complicate matters.

    Finding all the other drivers (sound, video, etc) is likely to be a real pain, as well, since most hardware vendors assume (not unrealistically, in my opinion) that people buying new hardware probably will be running it on a modern OS, and not something almost a decade old. I think your instinct to stay away from Win98 is a good one.
    I don't think support for an old game will happen by going to a newer OS. Microsoft has already stated their intent that the .NET platform be the way of the future, rather than the native Win32 API. While this doesn't mean they will be dropping support for native code in the near future, it does mean you shouldn't expect to see more support for it.
     
  11. Randall

    Randall Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    I'm not sure why the space is such a problem for linux. Have you tried the "html"/url way, use %20 instead of the space. ( Diablo%20II )
    Not sure if it works, but it's worth a shot.

    Well, that is the new and "beta" part of Flavie 1.5, reading straight from d2s and d2x files. I don't know how good it detect all items.

    What I do know is, that it seems to mix badly with ATMA / D2 usage.
    It doesn't matter if ATMA or D2 is running and it doesn't break any files (sofar).

    But file reading in Flavie can go wrong the "second/third/..." time in 1 Flavie session if something has been changed with the previous run. (restarting Flavie and the problem is solved)

    My guess is there is a File Cache in between somewhere which is not updated correctly (OS or JavaVM). I still have to look into this. It does not seem to affect ATMA or D2 itself though, so most likely it's a problem in Java (or the way I use it).
     
  12. Sir Lister of Smeg

    Sir Lister of Smeg Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    @Randall: I've not tried the %20, I've tried \ though. When I need to change the directory to say Diablo II, I need to type "cd Diablo\ II" in the terminal. The backslash signifies that the space occurring thereafter is not the end of the field. I probably need to try a bit with diffferent slash/backslash combination to get something that works. I'll try the %20 as well though.

    As to the lighting that Pharaoh mentioned, there was indeed a problem with my desklight, a TL that was flickering too much, now I need to check what part is wrong, the transformer, the starter, or the lamp itself. My guess is one of the first two. In addition, I do (or maybe by now did) have an eye inflammation, but whether that was a cause or an effect I don't know.
     
  13. AndiDi

    AndiDi Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Diablo II runs perfectly fine under Vista Final. The only problem that I had was due to a crappy Creative Audigy driver (The driver is still not very good, but it at least makes Diablo II sound working).
    BTW Atma works too. Haven't tried Flavie yet.

    But I still went back to XP, cause the NVidia driver doesn't yet support Aspect ratio scaling. Playing D2 on a Widescreen display is not much fun.

    -Andi



     
  14. Randall

    Randall Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    If "\" is supposed to work, try typing "\\" instead of "\"

    ("\" is used for special characters like "\n" or "\t", And "\\" is the special character "\")



     
  15. Sir Lister of Smeg

    Sir Lister of Smeg Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Sorry, I now tested again, and I had no troubles. Apparently I'd yesterday not paid attention to where the txt file was created and thus was under the impression it did not work.

    On another note, would it be possible to call Atma from within Flavie? Since only the Atma directory is required by Flavie, putting something like wine "/media/sdb2/Diablo II/Atma V/" would not work. I'm going to try and see where I get by editing atma.bat in util.



     

Share This Page