Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

The Bane of My Existence

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Stompwampa, Nov 4, 2006.

  1. Stompwampa

    Stompwampa IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    The Bane of My Existence

    Well, these damn viruses aren't going away...now they're getting worse, and nothing I've tried seems to be working.
    Now, whenever I launch Firefox, the DEP (Data Execution Prevention) pops up and tells me it has to close explorer.exe. Whenver I'm using Firefox (or IE for that matter) Explorer keeps turning itself on and off over and over again untill I close the browser. I also get new tabs that open up randomly, trying to get my to buy something, or telling me I have to clean out the "adult material that has been found on your computer" or trying to get me to run a trusted "virus scan."
    I used Hijack This, to no avail. My Ad-Ware software doesn't find anything new, and neither does my Virus scanner (AVG).
    I can't do a system restore, because there aren't any other points before the night I was at that LAN party when all this mess started. Every point before that is gone.
    Any more ideas? I've never had this happen before...at least not to the point where I could not fix it...
    Thanks for all the ideas thus far...
     
  2. Dondrei

    Dondrei IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36,855
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Format c:
    Fdisk if necessary.
     
  3. Stompwampa

    Stompwampa IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    that's my last resort...

    I have an 80gB HD, partitioned into C: and D: I have Windows installed on the C: partition, (10 GB) and then all my programs intalled on D: (70 GB). Can I format just the C: part of that partition without losing the data on the D:? If so, will all those installed programs still exist to the new windows install?
     
  4. Thelioness

    Thelioness IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,498
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    120
  5. Stompwampa

    Stompwampa IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    I have Ad-Aware and AVG Anti Spy Ware, and then AVG Anti Virus.

    Is Spy Bot S&D a freeware program?
     
  6. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    yup, spybot is free, have you updated your adaware and avg databases?
     
  7. Stompwampa

    Stompwampa IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    many many times. I've got a feeling that there is a downloader somewhere that the software isn't catching. Cuz I'll find new spyware every time I do a scan, then I'll scan again and find nothing. THe next day, I'll scan and find more spy/mal ware.



     
  8. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    disconnect from the internet and scan, then restart your pc, then scan again

    if it keeps coming back delete your temperary internet files, and all of the stuff in all your temp folders
    ex. c:\windows\temp; c:\Documents and Settings\*users*\temp ect..
     
  9. Stompwampa

    Stompwampa IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    i've done all that too...
     
  10. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    well, if you can burn all of the stuff you need onto a cd and fdisk, format and reinstall windows, not much can survive that
     
  11. Stompwampa

    Stompwampa IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    yea, i just hate doing that...I have SO MUCH stuff that I would have to re-install or go redownload, plus, i've got all my programs installed on D: and windows on C: (both the same hdd, just different partitions) and I'm not sure if the progams on D: would be recognized by a new windows installation...plus, I only have an XP update CD, not the full install...I updated from a pirated version of 2000, and I no longer have that around anywhere...
     
  12. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    all you need is disk1 of a previous version of windows to make the update work
    i used a friends copy of 98 to make xpsp2 work on other machines

    for backing stuff up, do you have another working pc networked or another hd you can hook up temporarily while you fdisk and format?
     
  13. Stompwampa

    Stompwampa IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    yea, my wife has a laptop we have on the wireless network, and I have three other physical hard drives in my computer...i use those for storage
     
  14. themachine

    themachine IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Quit Downloading Teh Pron!
     
  15. Stompwampa

    Stompwampa IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    actually it was from a game crack site.
     
  16. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    ya, crack sites suk, i use megagames, they work pretty good for most, no d2 crack there tho

    oh ya, browse to your windows\downloaded program files folder and uninstall everything there except for shockwave and flash, windows may have installed stuff for you
     
  17. ModeratelyConfused

    ModeratelyConfused Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,982
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also try HijackThis. Post a log of the results here.
     
  18. Gertlex

    Gertlex Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Better yet, PM it to ModCon or find a forum that focuses on that stuff more... Not that I'll kill you if you post here... I'd actually look at that output out of curiousity.



     
  19. BlueDogAnchorite

    BlueDogAnchorite IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Hell, you might as well try posting the log in several places. This forum is also pretty good. You may want to check out the link to their malware removal and prevention section before posting a log. (it's in their top sticky)
     
  20. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    on spybot also click on the immunize button and enable permanent blocking of bad address in ie
     

Share This Page