Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Tech help. Older game can't find CD in drive?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Drosselmeier, Mar 26, 2005.

  1. Drosselmeier

    Drosselmeier IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Tech help. Older game can't find CD in drive?

    I installed Close Combat IV last night. It installed just fine, albeit with a warning that the game won't run under windows NT 4.0. When I try to play it I get an error message saying the game can't locate the Close Combat CD and that I should insert the CD and restart the application.

    I have the game installed on my D:\ partition and the CD is in my E:\ drive, which is a DVD player, CD burner. I'm running Win2K 5.00.2195 with service pack 4.

    I had the same problem with Close Combat III after I reinstalled Windows a while back. Before I did that it worked fine but after the reinstall I got that same error message. I reainstalled the game and it worked fine. I've tried reinstalling CC IV but it still doesn't work. I've been running CC III from an image I created so I wouldn't have to mess around with discs. It's mounted with Daemon Tools as F:\. Is it possible that the game will run if I rip it and mount it as an image using DT?
     
  2. axeil

    axeil IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Hmm. It might but I'm more inclined to think the game was written only for DOS based 32 bit environments. Google around and see if there's a win XP or win2k patch for it.

    FYI: I saw your complaint in the armpit thread so I felt compelled to help.
     
  3. Drosselmeier

    Drosselmeier IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Thanks.

    I've looked around for patches but I haven't found any. The SSI page is down so it might be tricky to find one. I'll look again, harder.
     
  4. Jesse24

    Jesse24 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    I have the same problem with C&C:Red Alert.
     
  5. Drosselmeier

    Drosselmeier IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Finally got it patched. I had to register at gamezone to get a hold of the patch, but it was worth it. It works now.
     

Share This Page