Summoner

DwayneGAnd

Diabloii.Net Member
After doing 26 builds, I decided to take a break from Diablo II for a while, trying out different RPGs. Of course, the other RPG's I tried I still haven't gotten the hang of yet, so I'm going back to Diablo II.

I have never tried a summoning druid before. A summoning necromancer was fun, so I thought I'd give this one a try. One advantage is that you don't need corpses to summon your minions and that the build is much cheaper mana-wase. Probably the cheapest build I've ever done since I rarely had to resummon my minions.

Unfortuntately, the summoning druid can't have as many minions as a necromancer. In fact, he can't even have more than one type of minion out. He can either have wolves or bears, but not both. Dire Wolves are the best minions as they can eat corpses to become stronger (how much stronger I don't know since we don't see the numbers). The bear is only good as a damage synergy. Spirit Wolves are only good at the beginning of the game until you get the maximum of three Dire Wolves. Unlike the summonancer, you have no means of boosting the resistances of your minions, making your army far more fragile than skeletons and golems. And I'm not sure if they get increased life or damage in higher difficulties like the necromancers minions do.

The Spirit Wolf was the first skill I pumped. Then I pumped Dire Wolf once it became available, but didn't switch to using them until I had the maximum number of three. I continued pumping it until it was maxed, then pumped the Grizzly Bear. Heart of Wolverine is the spirit of choice due to increased damage and attack rating.