Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Sports advice needed.

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by piff, Mar 31, 2004.

1. piff

piff IncGamers Member

Sports advice needed.

I play for my school's varsity boy's volleyball team. It's only my second year playing overall, and I am starting setter. Not really because I deserve it, it's just because there are no other setters that are willing to set. We were last in our state last year. The way this season is going, it's gonna happen again.

I'm really down on myself from tonight's match. I put every serve into play, during both warm ups and the match. That I've never done before. But that was my only high point. Of all three of our matches.

This is going to be my first full year setting. My coach and my teammates know this. But I'm forced to take the weight of the team on my shoulders. I just can't think right during a match. What can I do mentally to get myself into the game better. I've tried a lot of things...maybe I'm over looking something. What do the athletes here try?

2. Night

Night IncGamers Member

Breathe deeply?
    Helps me clear my mind of obstacles and focus my attention.

3. memememe173

memememe173 IncGamers Member

Setter is the best:thumbsup: Missed try-outs with flu this year :(

Listen to favorite music up to as close to the game as possible, try to detach your mind from the body and all that meta-phsyical stuff

Remember it's a game, and that when a team loses, they all lose...in a team sport like this, one person can not lose a game by himself, unless he holds every ball or something stupid like that...

4. tydon

tydon IncGamers Member

The best thing to do is get in a rountine before each match, therefor eliminating all stress and letting you focus.

Like mmememememe said, you could listen to music before each game.

5. Mage11

Mage11 IncGamers Member