Latest Diablo 3 News
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Shablam.

Discussion in 'Hardcore' started by jafrick, Feb 25, 2009.

  1. jafrick

    jafrick Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Shablam.

    CD-Key banned.. I presume my account was as well.. I guess it was because i was using a downloaded copy but with real cd keys.. C'est la vie.

    See ya when D3 comes out.
     
  2. ZappaFan

    ZappaFan Hardcore Moderator and America Trade Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    3,564
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    488
    Re: Shablam.

    A very large number of people got banned for using D2Loader.



     
  3. Azhul

    Azhul Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Re: Shablam.

    How dare you play two copies of a game you did indeed purchase twice?
     
  4. MYK

    MYK Diablo: IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,024
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Re: Shablam.

    If it ever comes out. :scratchchin:


     
  5. Talman

    Talman Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Re: Shablam.

    lol 10 chars


     
  6. ZappaFan

    ZappaFan Hardcore Moderator and America Trade Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    3,564
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    488
    Re: Shablam.

    Oh it will come out. No way Blizz would let the pre-hype get this far without releasing it... the question is when, not if. It might be infinity-(1)... :p



     
  7. Hp_Sauce

    Hp_Sauce Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,713
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    347
    Re: Shablam.

    It better wait until I can afford to upgrade my computer before it comes out!

    If you guys are all off playing d3 while I'm left sitting here twiddling my thumbs because I can't play it... I'm not going to be impressed.

    -hps
     
  8. Azhul

    Azhul Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Re: Shablam.

    Ha! I totally agree. It would be a shame to have my pre-ordered D3 in my hands staring sadly at this piece.


     
  9. Zelator

    Zelator Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Re: Shablam.

    I probably won't play D3 when it comes out anyway due to no budget for a new computer and the loss of interests of computer games lately. Haven't played D2 in a couple of days now due to GTA Vice City - so I'm slowly getting rid of my addiction.... When the summer comes I'll buy a new Tempo Corvette. :jig: (Motor bike made in Norway)
     
  10. MrBill

    MrBill Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Re: Shablam.

    Don't want to use the D2loader hack? Use Ubuntu Linux 8.1x (soon to be 9.x) with the WINE Window$ compatibility layer, then :

    (Option 1): Get a second, cheap old PC with ~256 Mb RAM, a Pentium IV (ideally) CPU and about a 20 Gb HDU for your second copy of D2. Load Ubuntu on it, then WINE, then D2. Works far better like this than mine ever did under "real" Window$ XP, and you don't need to buy a copy of Window$. [Note: If you can't get a P-IV cheaply, you can go for a Celeron, but I would advise the XFCE version of Ubuntu (Xubuntu) as it has even lower overhead.]

    (Option 2): If you have a work laptop PC (as I do) that can't be touched (e.g. your MIS department will have you escorted smartly out the door for loading games on this "company asset"), install Ubuntu on a 8+ Gb USB key, get yourself a second USB key to put Diablo on, change BIOS of your work laptop to boot from USB before hard drive, run D2 from secondary USB key.

    I do this with my work laptop and Windows -- since it is never touched in any way -- knows nothing about me using the PC for my own purposes. It works great except for (occasionally) being dropped out of games when the USB key takes too long to load maps when going from one Act to another.

    Oh, and BTW, just casually ask your friends who use Window$, if they can run their entire O/S off of an 8 Gb USB key (or SDRAM chip). I think you'll get that "WTF you mean you can do that?" reaction. :cool:

    (Option 3): Get a better PC, load Ubuntu on it, then the VirtualBox virtualization emulator, run D2 in the first instance of Ubuntu and a separate copy of Ubuntu (with D2) in the virtualized instance. You will need a modern CPU and at least 2 Gb of physical RAM in your PC.

    Free yourself from Steve Ballmer's crapware today!

    http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download

    And live free! ;)

    Cheers

    Mr. Bill



     
  11. Azhul

    Azhul Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Re: Shablam.

    Using Window's "Switch User" with 2 copies also works.
     
  12. LuckyDwarf

    LuckyDwarf Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Shablam.

    I had some bannings due to d2loader as well, which I was quite angry about. It actually made me quit playing DII altogether except for the brief stint at the single player mod Median XL, which is quite good. This is my first post here since my ban and I have since had some of my accounts back, but I'm still angry! Hi guys.

    Lucky
     
  13. sahlakh

    sahlakh Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Shablam.

    Gib me directx and easy to find programs first, Mr. Bill, gib!

    I heard that VMware works fine for running multiple copies of d2 as well.
     
  14. Findux

    Findux Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
  15. MYK

    MYK Diablo: IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,024
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Re: Shablam.

    Haha...

    Good thing they're working hard at fixing things players care about: TPPK.
    And not stuff that wouldn't really do anything at this point: running multiple copies of D2.

    As far as waiting for D3... I don't think I'll bother supporting these people that don't really support their fans.

    Also, Socialism apparently used one of the Virtual windows things and got keys banned. Just, beware and be aware of what you're doing.
    Otherwise, Ubuntu and Linux in general are very cool and are a good way of telling MS to go shove it. :cool:
     
  16. Relativity

    Relativity Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Shablam.

    You say that now, but I'll bet you an hp_sauce that you would play if the game looks fun.



     
  17. Munchie

    Munchie Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Re: Shablam.

    I've been using VirtualBox (free and using only 22mb with D2 running) to run my other account. Works great and shouldn't get banned for it. VMWare takes way too much resources imo.
     
  18. MYK

    MYK Diablo: IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,024
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Re: Shablam.

    There's certainly that possibility!


    But, face it, you just want to win yourself an hp_sauce!


     
  19. jafrick

    jafrick Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Re: Shablam.

    I wasn't even using loader.. just a mounted image of the game disk in daemontools, oh well
     
  20. sahlakh

    sahlakh Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Shablam.

    Why would you do that, since current version of d2 doesn't require CD for playing the game?
     

Share This Page