Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Safer playing on Linux ?

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Community Forum' started by henno, Oct 24, 2006.

  1. henno

    henno IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Safer playing on Linux ?

    I've been playing D2 on Linux for quite a while now.
    Can I assume its safer to play on Linux via wine seeing quite a few getting hacked ?
    no key loggers, MS viri, etc. etc.
     
  2. Merick

    Merick IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,862
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    If you get a keylogger or a virus, it won't be directly from b.net regardless of your operating system. If you do get one using Windows it's probably because you haven't taken basic security measures.
     
  3. IntelligentX

    IntelligentX IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    3,937
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    346
    I have heard that Linux and Mac is almost virus free, so I guess it should be safer?
     
  4. seralph

    seralph IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    77
    wine provide an implementation of the 16/32bit api and a fake_regestry so you can basically run every program you run on windows too, including all this nasty programs.

    You can only run wine in non root mode therefore /etc /usr /boot etc can't be affected. Viruses and other stuff won't recognice the system as non windows. They can only infect your fake_windows but there most do their work.

    There are also viruses for linux/unix/mac. It's much more rare but seems to change now. For linux antivirus software is aviable and recommended.

    Btw which wine version and linux (distribution?) do you use? Want to get rid of windows too(need it only for diablo). Musn't say what the problem was with previous versions here.
     
  5. sswilson

    sswilson IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Yes... please do tell what kind of setup you have to allow you to run DII on linux.

    I've got a second computer I'd love to run DII off of with a linux distro.
     

Share This Page