Latest Diablo 3 News
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Bug Runeword not working

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by Basicbhoy, Oct 2, 2018.

  1. Basicbhoy

    Basicbhoy Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    235
    Trophy Points:
    79
    Ok so probably something I've done I know but maybe someone with a bit of knowledge can help me out.

    4os long sword plain
    Tal Thul Ort amn

    That should make spirit.
    I have rwm enabled as my Merc is holding insight and I'm wearing rhyme and have lore as well.

    Any ideas what could've gone wrong? I'll try and post screenie when I'm back on laptop
     
  2. Brak

    Brak Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,948
    Likes Received:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    233
    did you start up the game from the Diablo II link, or the Game Shortcut link?

    if the former, you aren't going to be running RWM

    previously made RWM items should still work in non-RWM games
     
    Zyr likes this.
  3. logoutzero

    logoutzero Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    391
    Trophy Points:
    197
    The 'A' in a genuine Amn should always be uppercase.

    You probably got that from a shady mob hawking counterfeit goods. Cut your losses.

    Kidding aside, sounds like a problem with launching the game from a different spot, or maybe the Runes.txt got moved on accident?
     
    crawlingdeadman and Kitteh like this.
  4. Basicbhoy

    Basicbhoy Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    235
    Trophy Points:
    79
    Ok thanks for that. Will check that but would the insight/rhyme still work in that scenario?

    Will also ensure I only use reputable Amn dealers from now on;)
     
    crawlingdeadman likes this.
  5. srrw

    srrw Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    680
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Rhyme should always work as it's not a Ladder RW. I can't think of a possibility for Insight to work and Spirit to not work aside from fiddling with the txt file.
     
  6. logoutzero

    logoutzero Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    391
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Yes, Ladder-Only Runewords will work in a vanilla game, but creating them won't.
     
  7. Basicbhoy

    Basicbhoy Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    235
    Trophy Points:
    79
    Thanks for feedback.

    The diablo II.exe and it's shortcut with relevant commands appears to have disappeared and I've inadvertently been using an older shorter to game.exe with the correct - commands.

    I have uninstalled the game and am in process of reinstalling to see if I can correct it

    I have saved my d2s files on my one drive just in case of corruption.
     
  8. Basicbhoy

    Basicbhoy Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    235
    Trophy Points:
    79
    And sorted. No idea how that happen but as my opening sentence said, my fault. 34% fcr. Happy me
     
    Zyr and sanguillen like this.
  9. maxicek

    maxicek Moderator Single Player

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,938
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    Trophy Points:
    535
    Technical Support Thread in future please.
     
  10. krischan

    krischan Europe Trade Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    30,152
    Likes Received:
    1,141
    Trophy Points:
    416
    Besides, I think I made the experience that when making e.g. Spirit without the RWM, it will turn from a gemmed sword (or shield) into Spirit if you change to RWM later. I'm not sure what happens if you turn away from the RWM later, but I think it would persist.
     
    Zyr likes this.
  11. Zyr

    Zyr Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    420
    Trophy Points:
    87
  12. T72on1

    T72on1 Diabloii.Net Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    4,891
    Likes Received:
    3,990
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Same here.
     
  13. maxicek

    maxicek Moderator Single Player

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,938
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    Trophy Points:
    535
    Ladder runewords have kept their stats in a vanilla game since 1.11.
     
  14. Kitteh

    Kitteh Diabloii.Net Site Pal

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    11,639
    Likes Received:
    2,067
    Trophy Points:
    534
    I've had to 'make' runewords to test that my RWM is working a few times during installs etc, and you still have the runeword once RWM is functioning, so at least you won't lose your runes. On that basis, you might as well go ahead and make an Infinity anyway :p
     

Share This Page