Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Removing the 'My Computer' Icon in Win2000

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by toader, Apr 6, 2005.

  1. toader

    toader Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5,443
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Removing the 'My Computer' Icon in Win2000

    Ok, so I have tried everything.

    I managed to get the 'Recycle Bin' 'My Documents' and 'Network Places' icons removed using Tweak.

    But, for the life of me, I cant figure out how to make the 'My Computer' icon go away from my desktop.

    I have figured out how to give it a blank appearance, and rename it to nothing...so it appears as if its not there. The problem with this is that the blank icon and blank name carries thru to everywhere else and its not really a good solution.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. gaoneng

    gaoneng IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Why would you want to do that? It's like the only way you can access the rest of the stuff on your comp...

    Well, anyways, try this application call TuneUp Utilities. It's the power-up version of Tweak and can do a lot of things to Windows.
     
  3. Kawaii

    Kawaii IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    How about a link in the Quicklaunch bar? Or on the Start Menu? Maybe you could use *gasp* a non-explorer.exe file manager? Using the "Run..." menu? Using Linux/BSD?
     
  4. toader

    toader Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5,443
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea, thats what I have done...moved it to the quicklaunch bar, and now I want it off the desktop.


    Ill go check out that Tune-Up thing.
     
  5. DrunkCajun

    DrunkCajun Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. gaoneng

    gaoneng IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    TuneUp has quite a lot of options, and it took me a while to find the place that does what you want to do. Think I'll just tell you where it is now...

    SystemControl -> Appearance (Left Hand Side) -> Folder Options -> Advanced Tab -> Desktop Settings.
     
  7. Raistlin Majere

    Raistlin Majere IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,617
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    255
  8. Merick

    Merick IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,862
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    That's right folks, Macintoshs may have much less software available for them, but get this, there's no "my computer" on the desktop.
     
  9. DrunkCajun

    DrunkCajun Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What sort of software do you need, Merick, that doesn't exist for the Mac? i think that there being far less software available is a common misconception. Probably the only software I've ever wanted for my computer that I couldn't get, or couldn't find a suitable (and sometimes better) replacement for were games. Even then, there are plenty of very good games out for Mac.
     
  10. toader

    toader Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5,443
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How are custom UI's for WoW working out for you? ;)
     
  11. DrunkCajun

    DrunkCajun Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually, once someone got me a downloadable version of Cosmos, I ran it without a hitch. I honestly think the bug downloading was a problem on my end and nothing to do with my software, because I can't see why downloading a compressed file would be any different from one platform to the next. At any rate, I was running Cosmos until the last patch, because the only thing I really wanted out of it was more toolbars, which Blizzard took care of for me.
     
  12. toader

    toader Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5,443
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, by this admission, Macs are awful machines...I see.

    Anyways, off-topic in my own thread...

    You should still try and use some other add-ons, they make life 'hella' easier.

    Even with the new patch I still use CTMod because of the other cool options it gives. I also use an add-on to scan the AH so that it can tell me approxiamte selling values of items, and I also use one that tells me what things will disenchant into, which is cool.

    Anyways.... ui.worldofwar.net

    Back to topic in my thread here...gaoneng, I still couldnt find anything in that area of TuneUp for 'My Computer'...it had every other icon but 'My Computer'. Either way...Ive just renamed it something cool, and changed the icon to something I like instead of a computer. It will be the only icon on my desk, but I made it match the wallpaper, so its all good.

    Heres what my desktop looks like now incase anyone wonders what I been working on:

    http://img156.exs.cx/img156/7307/desktop6xm.jpg
    -thats my desktop at work anyways.
     
  13. raffster

    raffster IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    nice desktop, toader. now you've made me try to figure this problem out.
     
  14. Amra

    Amra IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    7,255
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    472
    I am not sure if this works in win2000 but it does for XP Pro.....

    To remove just the "My Computer", go to Control Panel (or right click) on the desktop, Desktop, Customize Desktop, and then there may be a box to check for Desktop Icons.

    To remove all icons - which really seems to be your goal but you didn't ask about - right click on the desktop, go to Arrange Icons By, and deselect Show Desktop Icons. Bam! Every single icon is gone. Quick and easy..... if it works in win2000. ;)
     
  15. toader

    toader Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5,443
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, its my working goal...but I still wanna have temporary icons on my desktop when I am working on stuff.
     
  16. Amra

    Amra IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    7,255
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    472
    So did the first option work for you?
     
  17. toader

    toader Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5,443
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, it didnt...I think thats for winXP only, Ive done that at home.
     
  18. Amra

    Amra IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    7,255
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Nerts!

    What good am I then??
     
  19. Merick

    Merick IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,862
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    I play a free MMORPG that is only for windows.
    I also download lots of little utilities. A week or so ago I needed a stopwatch program. I just looked around download.com again and I didn't see any that said they worked for Mac.
     
  20. DrunkCajun

    DrunkCajun Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Meh. If its that big a deal you can get a Windows emulator for OSX and run it. I find plenty enough games that I'm happy with on OSX.

    http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/22907
     

Share This Page