Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Red portal in the Frigid Highlands

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by gabrielop, Mar 18, 2004.

1. gabrielop

gabrielop IncGamers Member

Red portal in the Frigid Highlands

OK, this is my first time through the Expansion (I just never got around to it until now). What in the world is this Red Portal in the middle of the Frigid Highlands? I checked out the Quest Guide on the site and there is no mention of it. It leads to a section (I forget the name, but it is something like Abbadon) which looks EXTREMELY similar to the last act of Diablo II, in the River of Flames, although my initial encounter was with some Blood Lords that are a lot meaner and nastier than the monsters in the River arena. Anyway, whats going on here??? Is this simply a side quest to get experience and gold/magic items like all the caves/tombs etc, in earlier acts. Or is there something waiting down there that is going to kick my sorry behind into next Tuesday??

I will be cautiously waiting outside the portal till I hear some more.

Thanks!

2. corax

corax IncGamers Member

its just like the caves in other acts. cept they have nastier monsters hidding down there. but as always theres lots of exp and a nice golden chest at the end

3. Icebird

Icebird IncGamers Member

It's an optional side dungeon, similar to the Stony Tomb, Swamp Pit, Cave, Hole etc...

In 1.09 in Hell difficulty, Physical Immune Frenzytaurs spawned in those dungeons, which made them less than popular places to visit. Not quite sure what appears there in 1.10. There are similar dungeons in the Arreat Plateau and Frozen Tundra, plus additional side-dungeons in the ice caves you'll run into later.

Chris

4. gabrielop

gabrielop IncGamers Member

Thanks guys!

5. DurfBarian

DurfBarian IncGamers Member

They're fun to check out, especially in Normal. Go for it!

6. Todd

Todd IncGamers Member