Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Realm Down Help

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Community Forum' started by IN_FLAMES, May 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IN_FLAMES

    IN_FLAMES Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Realm Down Help

    I get realm downs like crazy. After every game I get one. I don't know what it could be...


    1. I play in Window mode. Could this be it?

    2. I use a Maphack. Could this be it?

    I reinstalled today, and it was working great for about 1 hour and then the Realm downs started again. I am willing to change ANYTHING to be able to play! It's impossible to MF or do baal runs like this!

    Please help.


    I apologize in advance if this is in the wrong section.
     
  2. Dawnmaster

    Dawnmaster IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,209
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    469
    Hm, I don't think the peeps here (including Mods) are gonna like that :rolleyes:

    MH is illegal, and this forum is legal...
     
  3. IN_FLAMES

    IN_FLAMES Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you please just tell me if that is it. I will delete anything to make my D2 work fine again.

    You have no idea how aggrivating it is!
     
  4. Dawnmaster

    Dawnmaster IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,209
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    469
    Well, realm down can be caused through several things:

    1) external programs (like winamp/msn/maphack)
    2) switching games and/or chars too fast
    3) bad internet connection

    Certainly not the Window mode, I've been playing with full screen in the old days, and ever since I switched to Window mode, the game actually runs smoother and I get less lag etc.
     
  5. Dredd

    Dredd D3 Off Topic Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    8,142
    Likes Received:
    201
    Trophy Points:
    142
    I doubt it's mapcrap.

    It would be easier to help you if you told us what you were doing just before the realm down happened. Rapidly changing games is a common source of realm down problems (BNet thinks you're a bot) - but other things can cause it too.

    Most realm downs last 5 minutes to an hour - sometimes extending to 24 hours. Go outside and take a walk and try reconnecting later. :)
     
  6. Gorny

    Gorny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    27,850
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maphack may be a problem.

    stop using it.
     
  7. mhl12

    mhl12 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    466
    i've heard that blizzard has finally started scanning for maphacks and other cheats so you better stop using it before they suspend your account or cd key.
     
  8. dang79

    dang79 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Didn't somebody once say that MH is client side so it can't ben scanned for?

    I don't know any more about it than what is commonly written here.

    It does sound to me that he might be botting though.

    The only time I ever get RD-ed is when I self transfer and I don't do that very often, maybe once or twice a week.

    It takes a bit of effort to enter and leave games manually at the rate that will get you RD-ed.... all you need to do is dally a bit and you're fine
     
  9. itsPizzarific

    itsPizzarific Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when you play in window mode, it seems you can leave and join games faster. maybe my comp is just weird but thats how it is. so i've rd more after i switched to window.
     
  10. Fallen Creation

    Fallen Creation IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    77
    They can run something on your comp when you log on to Battle.net that scans for processes resembling maphack. So yes, they can detect it.

    :thumbsup:
     
  11. Rehsa

    Rehsa IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    stop using maphack

    if you are still having the problem after 3 days, then your computer or ISP hates you. do not re-install maphack as it can do much worse than just realm down.
     
  12. rykuss

    rykuss Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got one yesterday for the first time in months, of course it was my fault for joining and leaving to many games too rapidly. But the one i got just now i think was due to my isp or all the crap running in the background. Grrrr i hate windows xp, give me back my windows 98 se and quit with the new-fangled technology already! :lol:
     
  13. Gorny

    Gorny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    27,850
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This one has run long enough...
    Thanks for understanding.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page