Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Quit out times

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by Thyiad, May 6, 2008.

  1. Thyiad

    Thyiad Moderator Single Player, D2 Assassin, Barbarian

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    15,309
    Likes Received:
    233
    Trophy Points:
    488
    Quit out times

    I've started running an Act5 SU for the Pentathon (not awake enough for Baal) and the time between hitting save and exit and the actual screen ready to re-load is quite noticeable.

    I've tried the way I normally play (with disk in drive) and also having it mounted as an ISO but an average quit time is still 6-10 seconds. (10 for ISO, six for disk in drive.)

    I've rebooted the computer and tried to get rid of as many background processes as possible. I'm still looking 5-8 seconds.

    Is this normal and I haven't noticed before or am I missing something. No I won't run windowed as I can't see what is going on on the screen (I did try it for a few runs but it didn't seem to improve matters).

    Thoughts? Laughter?

    Thanks
     
  2. silospen

    silospen IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Re: Quit out times

    Run in windowed. Try a wrapper.

    Also, Haw haw :)
     
  3. erimatbrad

    erimatbrad IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Re: Quit out times

    Running Full-screen, that pretty fairly matches up with my experience on S&E and relaunch, though I've never actually timed it.



     
  4. Merlin The Wizzard

    Merlin The Wizzard IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Re: Quit out times

    Bah. Go grab a computer, or rather, the prehistoric box of monolithic dimensions and materials they dared to call such two decades ago, and boot a game up. Any game.

    Then compare load times. 6-10 seconds? Slow? Blegh.

    As for the rest, no idea. Do u use vista?
     
  5. lionheartthebrave

    lionheartthebrave IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Quit out times

    Try taking the disc out after D2 starts, you don't need it any more

    *Laughs in a manner that doesn't require a ban*

    Also what are you running in the background?
     
  6. Thyiad

    Thyiad Moderator Single Player, D2 Assassin, Barbarian

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    15,309
    Likes Received:
    233
    Trophy Points:
    488
    Re: Quit out times

    No I wouldn't touch Vista with an eight foot barge pole.

    Yes, I recall long load times ... my first computer was a C64 with TAPE deck. *start loading* *make three course meal* *return*

    The machine is decent 2gig RAM 2.8mhz. I was comparing and contrasting with the dual core next to it and at one point the DC loaded slower but quit quicker. Then *somehow* they were both exiting at roughly the same speed. Now the first machine is back to it's snail like previous performance.

    It does seem quicker providing I don't go out of town, but that doesn't really help. I just wondered what an average exit time was for everyone else. Because this seems very slow but I can't identify why.

    EDIT: Not running anything in the background. Closed two browswers, avg, etc. Just rebooted and ran ccleaner too.
     
  7. xduckster

    xduckster IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Quit out times

    Do you run with rrm/rwm on? From my experience that makes the game take a few seconds longer to load. Normally I play with rrm/rwm but when I pindle or meph run I use my vanilla shortcut to speed up the runs.

    I think running in -ns makes the game start up faster, but I don't recommend it. It is way to useful to hear what's dropping.
     
  8. NagisaFurukawa

    NagisaFurukawa IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,410
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Re: Quit out times

    <- Vista user who thinks it's fine.

    Anyway, the 2.8 MHz would definitely explain it. hehe. Ahem. Virus/spyware/malware scan/check/whatever? If nothing else, the machine could just be too hot or old. My laptop is about the same: DC, 2 GB RAM, 2.0 GHz, but takes only ~3 seconds between [escape key for save and exit] and [new game up and running].

    Run Environment: No CD, RRM/RWM, and windowed with sound. MANY other processes (MS Word, ATMA, Firefox, Trillian, Media Player Classic, and occasionally even Warcraft III).


     
  9. Ankeli

    Ankeli IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,665
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    347
    Re: Quit out times

    Beaten, but still have to mock the 2 megaHerzes :p

    It might have something to do with dd/openGL, try switching modes in diablo setup (not the ingame one) and see if it changes the times.
     
  10. Thyiad

    Thyiad Moderator Single Player, D2 Assassin, Barbarian

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    15,309
    Likes Received:
    233
    Trophy Points:
    488
    Re: Quit out times

    Am I getting my gig and Mhz mixed up again? *checks system control* Oh yes I am.

    Right: 2.8Ghz, p4, 2 Gig Ram. Blah blah.

    It seems to be about 3 secs if I don't move out of town. Oddly it seems a longer time I kill Thresh than Pindle. Hmm.

    *goes to play with GL thing*
     
  11. kanonfutter

    kanonfutter IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Quit out times

    You probably know this already, but the game is somewhat faster in 2d mode instead of 3d. I wouldn't be surprised if that went for loading times as well.
     
  12. scottee

    scottee IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Quit out times

    I've a similar comp to yours, Thy, and I also have noticed something along the lines of what you're experiencing. When I LK run, it's about 3 secs between hitting quit and new game up. However, when I run Countess, it takes 5-7 secs just to quit. I'll pay attention next time I do some Pindle runs, see if it's similar there. I run full-screen (cuz windowed mode is horrible when running 1280x1024), 2d, rrm.
     
  13. Joosh

    Joosh IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Re: Quit out times

    Thy, as useless as my information always is ;).

    When I used to run pindle like a madman I always found the same thing, although I also found an odd little tidbit.

    Everytime I did a run in say under 25 seconds I would notice that there would be a much longer save and exit time than say if I did a run 30 seconds +, to be honest it almost seemed as if when I finished a run too fast, the computer would have to wait before it would let the game exit, kind of like there was a 30 sec minimum game time or something.

    I dunno, I know it doesn't really help your situation in the slightest but I thought I would share my personal experience :wink:. Hopefully you can figure out a way around it, but do remember that Diablo II was programmed not so recently and that it isn't the most efficiently programmed game. To this day I still experience lag on occasion, even running a 3.2 ghz dual core 'pimp arse' system. :grin:

    ... but I digress, in any case good luck Thy

    Joosh :thumbsup:
     
  14. lionheartthebrave

    lionheartthebrave IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Quit out times

    @scottee: I experienced that when I ran the countess, I found that if you waited til her death animation ended (the fog) it was much quicker

    also, can you beam me up plz:wink3:

    EDIT: go kill a boss pack,I got a lightsabre that way
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2008
  15. scottee

    scottee IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Quit out times

    Yeah, but waiting for that to end still takes longer than giving up the extra 4ish seconds.

    Also: *aims disintegration ray* Sure, I'll "beam you up." This won't hurt a bit...

    ;)
     
  16. Ugla

    Ugla IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Quit out times

    That's true, otherwise, the game must kill all the monsters instead of you, which takes some time, esp. on Hell difficulty - you can't let all those demons roam about your RAM devouring other programs :hide:

    In all seriousness, if you leave in the middle of "action", the exiting clearly takes much longer than when you kill everything first and exit afterwards. Maybe the game uses some other means for memory deallocation (some sort of garbage collector :scratch: ) upon exit.

    Playing in windowed mode generally decreases re-start delays and pays off greatly for MF-runs. I would never go back, since I always check the item mods with my ATMA stashes hoping for better roll :tongue: Constant Alt-tabbing used to annoy me greatly, when I looked for something on the forums, answered ICQ etc.



     
  17. muzzz

    muzzz IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Quit out times

    I've grown accustomed to varying "quit" times in D2. As far as I can tell, it seems worse after longer sessions. Or short sessions in which lots of ground is covered*. Based on those two observations, I'm guessing the delay is proportional to the amount of stuff spawned.

    *) I took a sorc into A5 Hell. If I S&E immediately, without even moving, it takes about 2-3 seconds. Walking around town or 1-2 yards into the foothills doesn't make much of a difference. But when I teleport through the foothills until I reach Eldritch the quit time becomes 5-6 seconds.
     
  18. Hp_Sauce

    Hp_Sauce IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,712
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    347
    Re: Quit out times

    When you hit the exit button it saves your character. If it has read something from the harddrive since it last saved your character the platens would most likely have spun to a different location. Depending on how far away the save sector for your character is, it would be quite different amounts of time to save him/her, could it not?

    Also, I suspect (hope) that when you exit, it "empties" and re-allocates all the RAM it has used so that other programs can use it. Depending on how much RAM it's filled with junk could mean different lengths of time to complete this task. Some RAM is also faster then others, depending on the type, and also the type of Motherboard it is plugged into which could explain the differences between one computer and another.

    There could be bad RAM too, and of course spyware, viruses, and god knows what other malicious crap...

    -hps
     
  19. silospen

    silospen IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Re: Quit out times

    Arrrghghghghh.

    Your hard drive theory is horrendous and the RAM idea is nuts.



     
  20. Gorgrims

    Gorgrims IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    77
    Re: Quit out times

    Disc defrag with a good program helped me. It cut the waiting time down so much that it was pretty noticeable. Ofcourse everything on the computer also went slightly faster. It can help lots depending on your comps condition, i guess.

    My pindleskin exit times are only 2-3 second's atm. From pressing exit and save to arriving outside with the menu. And i'm running a 4 year old PC with one crappy vid card. Although, I'm not sure if you did or didn't set your graphic settings to 2d while playing, im pretty sure when It wasnt on 2d It lagged up everything pretty bad.
     

Share This Page