Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Quick open bnet question

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by steveokle, Apr 2, 2005.

1. steveokle

steveokle IncGamers Member

Quick open bnet question

Hi guys, I didn't know where to post this because it's not character related or anything, and it's not closed bnet so..

My connection seems to be timing out when I try open battle.net (I've never used it before, thought I would give it a go)

My computer does run through a proxy though, would this be the problem?? I checked on the battle.net site first though it's giving me a 404 error :confused:

EDIT: Im using standard XP ICS, do I need to forward ports or something? And I'm on dial up, which is going to be a problem.. but I want to give it a go anyways

2. steveokle

OK I've tryed to set up ICS port forwarding but its still saying I have no connection

Ive forwarded internal 4000 -> external 4000 (All these are directed to my computer, are the internal IPs and the external IPs supposed to be the same?)

6112 UDP and TCP

Can someone give me a step by step on how to do it, I've looked everywhere and I can't find anything.. I need to know int and ext ports, and whether they are UDP or TCP

3. shermo

shermo IncGamers Member

easy to fix. Don't go near Open Bnet. It's evil.

Seriously though, you've got no way to tell if the person you're playing with hacks/dupes/mods. Any character you use on open bnet would be classified as tainted in my books

4. Serdash

Serdash IncGamers Member

I forget which ports you need for Battle.net, but if you play on regular battle.net, you should be able to do open b.net just fine.

IMO 56k on Open is a BIG waste of time, since it's basically just like a more interactive version of TCP/IP games. So if the host has a crappy connection, more than likely so will you.

And on 56k that makes for tons of lag, believe me, I tried it once when I first started playing.