Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Question on OpenBattlenet

Discussion in 'Newcomer Forum' started by furnut5158, Apr 30, 2005.

  1. furnut5158

    furnut5158 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Question on OpenBattlenet

    does anyone know how to set up the firewall so you can join open battlenet games?

    it keeps saying I can't join other people's open bnet games. =(

    thanks :)
     
  2. mhl12

    mhl12 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    466
    thats b/c games on open bnet are not hosted by blizz servers. You are trying to directly connect to the host's computer which is usually not as powerful as blizz's server. Its recommended that you have broadband. Even with that, its gonna be pretty laggy.
     
  3. Orphan

    Orphan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    7,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Apparently, despite what Blizzard's support page says, you should only need to open Port 6112 TCP in order to join and host games on open bnet. If that doesn't work, you can try opening port 4000 TCP as well.
     
  4. furnut5158

    furnut5158 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    thank you very much! =)
     
  5. Dark Bushido

    Dark Bushido Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It should be mentioned that Open is not a controlled environment, and is rife with cheating and hacking.

    If you're after a more pleasant experience, there is a Single Player board on these Forums who hold MP games.
     

Share This Page