Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Queen of the Amazons - A 1.04 Adventure

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by DariusTriplet, Jan 13, 2019.

1. DariusTriplet

DariusTriplet IncGamers Member

I've been playing this game, off and on, for nearly 19 years now. In that time, I've done a lot, as one can imagine. Starting from my very first character in 2000, a Paladin with very high dexterity (he couldn't survive Act 4 Normal...), and up to cleaning up Guardians today, I've done most everything I'd like to do in this game.

Save two things.
    I've never made a King or Queen.

As such, my goal this year is to take at least two Classic HC characters all the way through to beating Hell Diablo. While this would be possible in 1.14 Classic, I'd like to make this a truly classic adventure, so pre-LoD patches are called for.

My first attempt at royalty will be with a 1.04 Strafer. 1.04 is notable for being the patch in which the bow bug (in which ED% was not properly applied to bows) was fixed, but not the bug in which Strafe and Guided Arrows's ED% were applied to total bow damage*. As a result, 1.04 potentially marks the high point for bowazons, although the patch was so short-lived (~6 weeks) and so long ago that it's difficult to find documentation/experience of it. I was probably futzing with IM/BG back then, so Classic bowazons are a whole new adventure for me, although they're easily my favorite LoD archetype. It's also fitting to play a Queen with a skill fit for one :D

The rules that I'm setting for this are as follows:
    - Single-pass, more or less - a Queen has no patience for re-running areas.
    - Players 8 only - a Queen needs her court, after all (and I don't have the patience for P1 Classic...).
    - Untwinked 1.04b HC (as if I have any other 1.04b HC characters :p)

* If someone has more detailed information on this, I'd be thrilled to know the exact formula!