Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

PTR is Live for Patch 2.3.0

Discussion in 'Diablo 3 General Discussion' started by Flux, Jun 30, 2015.

  1. Flux

    Flux Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,710
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    472
    [​IMG]

    [caption id="attachment_384697" align="alignright" width="217"][​IMG] All Rift Keys are now the same. All Keys turned into Machines.[/caption]Blizzard has announced that the PTR is now accessible to players wishing to test out Patch 2.3.0 and its myriad of changes and game enhancements. You'll need to have the PTR client downloaded and installed, and all the info about that and how to copy over your characters from the live realms can be seen below.

    Happy hunting.

    Update: I hopped onto the PTR and took some screens of the new stuff, and posted them while sitting in the 23 minute game creation queue.

    Update #2: Short play update, from Campaign Mode on Torment 10. A trick of the PTR; if there's a long queue, you can often find a shorter one trying a different, less-popular difficulty, or by going to campaign mode. I had 29m wait trying to create Adventure Mode on T10, 17m trying to create T7 Adventure Mode, and 2m wait to create Campaign Mode on T10. So that's what I played, just to get some trial time on Torment 10.

    It's for real. Playing my HC Natalya's DH who was wearing gear that could 3-4m farm GR35 Rifts, and felt safe on GR40... I proced half a dozen times just doing early Act 1 Campaign Mode. Jailer seems to have been nerfed in damage (not dangerous now) and Thunderstorm felt much less damaging also... but Reflects Damage was horrifying. Instant proc even from off screen, and I had to switch from Vault to Smoke Screen at once. Mortar was very dangerous as well, nearly one-shotting me to proc each time.

    Monster hit points are way high also; I was kiting and bombing off 10-15 RoVs every Elite pack (It takes me 3-5 RoVs per elite on GR35ish, at most), and Goblins (double spawning with the community buff) were legitimately hard to kill. I had a few escape when I got an Elite at the same time, and it's been so long since I didn't one-shot Goblins (on T6) that I hardly knew how to chase them down anymore.

    Repair costs are crazy high on TX; I was getting 500k+ bills every time back in town, and this is Hardcore so it wasn't like I was dying a bunch and breaking my gear.

    I didn't get to test out Greater Rifts since I didn't have time to wait to create an Adventure Mode game, but all Trial Keys and Rift Keys of any level are the same Rift Key + now, and they all stack up. All Keywarden Keys I had in my inventory became Infernal Machines; no crafting required.

    [gallery link="file" ids="384687,384689,384690,384691,384692,384693,384694,384695,384696,384697,384698,384699,384700"]



    Also, the PTR reset all clans since last PTR, so I created Diinet PTR. All are welcome, hardcore or softcore. As with the past few PTRs, it's very useful to be in a clan so you can join someone's game, since creating your own usually requires a very lengthy queue.








    Patch 2.3.0 PTR Now Available



    Patch 2.3.0 is currently in development and now available for testing on the PTR. To learn about major changes included in 2.3.0, please see the official PTR patch notes. For information on how to participate, copy over characters, and provide feedback, read on below!


    Further details on how to access the PTR and use the Character Copy system can be found in the FAQ.

    [​IMG]

    HOW TO PARTICIPATE:


    To participate in the public test, you must have a Diablo III game license attached your Battle.net account in good standing (i.e. it hasn't been suspended or banned). In addition, you will also need to download and install the Battle.net desktop app if you have not already done so.

    Step 1: Create a PTR account. To create a PTR account, log in to Battle.net Account Management and double-click on your Diablo III game license; this will bring you to the game management page. On this page, click "Create a PTR account."

    If you've participated in any previous Diablo III PTR (including the Reaper of Souls beta), the "Create PTR account" button may not appear. This is because you've already created a PTR account and can therefore skip this step.

    Step 2: Once you have created a PTR account, installed the Battle.net desktop, and logged in with your Battle.net credentials, select "Diablo III" from the main menu on the left-hand side of the application.

    Step 3: On the Diablo III screen, there is a drop-down menu right above the "Play" button (note that this may say "Install" if you do not have Diablo III currently installed). Select "PTR: Diablo III" from this drop-down menu before proceeding.

    Step 4: You should now have the option to install and play the patch 2.3.0 PTR.

    The 2.3.0 PTR is available in all supported languages, and accounts from all regions are eligible to participate.


    [​IMG]

    PTR CHARACTER COPY:


    The option to copy your existing Diablo III characters from your live account to the PTR will be available and can be done directly through the PTR client. However, only one region per account can be copied at a time. So, if you choose to copy characters from your account in a different region, any previously copied PTR characters will be lost.

    Step 1: Log into the live game and then log out.

    Step 2: Log into PTR client and create a level 1 character. After you're done, return to the main character screen.

    Step 3: Click on the "PTR Copy" button located in the upper right-hand corner. (The PTR Copy button will not appear in-game until you have created a new level 1 character.)

    Step 4: Select your region.

    Step 5: Click "Copy." This will copy all characters on your account from the selected region.

    Step 6: You will be disconnected from the PTR client.

    Step 7: Log back in. Your copied characters will be available for play.

    Please note that you can only copy characters from one gameplay region at a time. If you choose to copy characters from a different region, any previously copied PTR characters will be lost. In addition, you can only copy characters over to your PTR account once every 24 hours. Attempting to copy characters before this cooldown is up will result in an error.

    As a reminder: Any progress made on the PTR will not transfer over to your live account.


    [​IMG]

    FEEDBACK AND BUG REPORTING:


    Once you've had the chance to try things out, be sure to visit the Public Test forums to discuss the patch.


    As this is a test server, please anticipate uneven game performance, and note that restarts and downtime may occur without warning.

    [source]http://us.battle.net/d3/en/blog/19814201[/source]


    Excite?
    Continue reading the Original Blog Post.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2015
  2. koko

    koko IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    64
    You bet!
     
  3. Silent Killer

    Silent Killer IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Waiting till LIVE. No spoilers please.
     
  4. T2000

    T2000 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    20
    New emergency podcast on the way?
     
  5. SabreWolfy

    SabreWolfy IncGamers Site Pal

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Meh... 59 minute wait in PTR queue :(
     
  6. Skaut

    Skaut IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You won`t be waiting that long thou. I had 38 min and jumped into the game when reached 42 min. It didn`t go down at all.

    BTW. Patch is amazing. I won`t be spoiling anything - Flux will do it better.
     
  7. Turbojugend

    Turbojugend IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    43
    the whole b.net thing is currently messed up!
    b.net app won't connect, d3 ros won't start, hearthstone seems to be offline ... i dunno.

    i too will wait for the TX carnage and glorious deeds until next month (?)
     
  8. bruteMax

    bruteMax IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Nice that Blizz freed up some inventory space by consolidating grift keys... only to take it all back with cache-specific crafting mats.

    Thanks Blizz. Wasn't this a type of gameplay you wanted to remove at one point? :(
     
  9. Flux

    Flux Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,710
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    472
    Thanks for noticing, but I think the weekend will be soon enough. Have to give the podcast guests (and host) time to play and test out the stuff, after all.
     
  10. tougeznut

    tougeznut IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    126
    Trophy Points:
    135
    No PTR if you use a Mac. They're "working on it" but I'd wouldn't expect a fix this week. As usual, Mac users are considered second class gamers :(
     
  11. DaveTheBrave

    DaveTheBrave IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Bruce Willis was dead all along.
     
  12. DaveTheBrave

    DaveTheBrave IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    19
    I'm not sure how it follows that temporary non-access to a beta version makes anyone a second-class anything, especially given that BootCamp exists.
     
  13. tougeznut

    tougeznut IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    126
    Trophy Points:
    135
    Bootcamp? Yes, let me use a partitioned portion of my hard drive to play a game at reduced capacity and have the game installed twice while I'm at it. If I wanted to use bootcamp to play using windows... I'd own a windows OS - no thanks. The fact that I would have to use some workaround suggests the second-class as well...

    D3 PTRs more often than not have some bug specific to Mac. Most make it past the PTR and get dealt with at a glacial pace. But the last two PTRs I couldn't access right away, or test properly because of an overlooked bug specific to owning a Mac. The issue always gets the "nobody plays on a Mac, so let's deal with more pressing issues" treatment.
     
  14. DaveTheBrave

    DaveTheBrave IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    19
    I posted (@diablo_diaries) some quick thoughts while going through the first couple hours of the PTR. Also, I just joined the clan Flux mentioned, come and say hi! ...

    Doing mostly bounties and trying to figure stuff out - the cube is weird at first ...

    So, let's see, I headed straight to the new area, which you can find in Act 3, in the upper corner. There is no particular quest associated with finding the cube. You just find it, you click on it, and then it's in town like the other artisans. Area itself looks good, snow is falling; I hope it won't add the visual noise of intense 4-player battles. But - pretty. Genuinely feels like a new area but also like it belongs in D3...

    The cube has powers other than eating legendary items for breakfast, and every transaction will cost you 5 death breath and 1 of each act-specific crafting material. You get those by completing the corresponding bounties. I got 3 of each mat in a cache, and was playing at T6. Hopefully this number is adjusted by the difficulty...

    I notice that repair costs were crazy expensive, but this is apparently a known issue with socketed items. I didn't realize it was a bug until I read about it in a blue post...

    Time to try the cube, the interface is pretty obtuse. Tetris? Again? Seriously? You have to manually insert all the ingredients plus the item you're trying to enchant in this 3x3 container...

    I sacrificed a Calamity, Meticulous Bolts, and Broken Crown. I equipped the broken crow in the cube... and then IRL called...

    To be continued.
     
  15. koko

    koko IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    64
    buying a Windows license for a Mac user and loosing 10GB of SSD, only to play D3 PTR... This is fan!
     
  16. PrvtPiLe

    PrvtPiLe IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    27
    Bringing back repair cost as a gold sink? That brings back memories...
     
  17. randomice

    randomice IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    time to play ? time to queue imo!
     
  18. PrvtPiLe

    PrvtPiLe IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    27
    ha, apparently this is a bug.

    http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/13242714346
     
  19. beltt

    beltt IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Cant join clan. Anybody else have this problem?
     

Share This Page