Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

problems

Discussion in 'Hardcore' started by johnsx, Jun 7, 2005.

  1. johnsx

    johnsx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    problems

    Ok i need some help hopfully u guys can help me out. Ok i have dsl internet and very good comp but for some reason i still lag on d2. My operating system is windows xp service pack 2. I really cant think of what it could be.








    John
     
  2. Matt

    Matt IncGamers Site Pal

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    4,163
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Make sure you're not running a lot of background programs at the same time. Mine lags up HORRIBLY when the virus scan self scans for example. If youve got too much running, you will lag.
     
  3. rawrj

    rawrj IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    wireless ???

    cause i get interference form my cordless phone

    just my 2 cents
     
  4. linkato1

    linkato1 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Could be even one. I had to disable my virus scan totally, it seemed that even though I disabled the timed updates the program still made occasinal connections to the database server.

    Topi
     
  5. AzaZaz

    AzaZaz IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    165
    frankly i think service pack 2 is sketchy, but not necesarily the root of your problems. For simple lag it could be anything, video card, alternate proggy's as suggested, interferance, traffic
     
  6. mhl12

    mhl12 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    466
    try cleaning out your temporary internet file or defragmenting your computer if you havent done so in a while.
     
  7. Still-Xey-Lover

    Still-Xey-Lover IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Tell me, what vid card, mobo, and cpu are you running?
     
  8. Valar-Wrath

    Valar-Wrath IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Also, is it random lag or does it seem to happen at the same times?
     
  9. johnsx

    johnsx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    My comp is a dimension xps generation 3 from dell. It has an intel pentium 4 CPU 3.40GHz
    3.89GHz and 1 GB of ram. Please post how to check the vid card and mobo.
    And it lags most the time but sometimes its ok.Please reply









    John
     
  10. johnsx

    johnsx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    O and if my phone lines ****ed up could that be the problem. And does cable internet run through your phone line also.














    John
     
  11. WingBlade

    WingBlade IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165

    Cable Broadband runs through your Cable service not your phone line... but you might be sharing your broadband connection with others in the area if they have similar broadband service.... since they split it up - unless they changed that?????????

    so which do u have - DSL or CABLE... if you have DSL that runs through your phone line service - u may wanna ask the phone co. to run a DSL check on the line to make sure there's very little noise... if there's alot then that's the cause of your lag.
     
  12. johnsx

    johnsx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    To ask the phone co do i just call the phone company im with and theyll check it.
     
  13. johnsx

    johnsx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Its usually random
     
  14. johnsx

    johnsx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    My ping in game jumps around alot. Its from 50-1000 and any where inbetween.
     
  15. Haplon

    Haplon IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If its random its unlikely a hardware problem. One possibility is that you have spyware running in the background. Do you have programs that identify and remove spyware-if so run them -if not get them. Otherwise as someone already said it may be your interenet company doesn't have enough bandwidth and the more users come on the slower your response.(You have cable right?)
     
  16. terrymanning

    terrymanning IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    When you get lag does your ping or FPS spike?
     

Share This Page