Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Playing 2 copies

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Community Forum' started by Nodders, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. Nodders

    Nodders IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Playing 2 copies

    Heya

    I have a couple of computers in the house that run wirelessly from my main comp .

    If I buy another set of Diablo / LoD games and set them up on another comp , can I then use 1 to make mule games etc or is there more to this than meets the eye .

    With wireless won't both be using the same IP and not be able to get in the same game ?

    I have no idea , not very tech savvie .

    Any answers would be appreciated .

    Thanks
     
  2. nurman

    nurman IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,365
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    350
    Re: Playing 2 copies

    Yes, you can.
     
  3. Nodders

    Nodders IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Re: Playing 2 copies

    Ahh brill thanks .

    For some reason I had it in my head that they would use the same ip and would'nt let me do that .


     
  4. Tecibbar

    Tecibbar IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Re: Playing 2 copies

    Anyway to play on one computer?
     
  5. nurman

    nurman IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,365
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    350
    Re: Playing 2 copies

    Can I take that as question on how to play them on one computer?

    In that case...

    1. Install using your first cdkey pair.
    2. Patch up.
    3. Rename folders & the shortcut
    4. Install using the second pair.
    5. Start the first one (windowed mode helps, ALOT)
    6. Run the second one in a sandbox mode. (Sandboxie is a good software for this..) Also fast user switching works, but that's alot slower.
    7. ????
    8. Profit!
     
  6. BRKO

    BRKO IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Re: Playing 2 copies

    Virtualization isnt bad either. No renaming anything just 2 clean installations.
    Vmware Player is freeware and the second system you get is useful not only for running another copy of d2 .)
     
  7. nurman

    nurman IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,365
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    350
    Re: Playing 2 copies

    Indeed. I second that BRKO ^_^
     
  8. Nodders

    Nodders IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Re: Playing 2 copies

    Just to get back to my question .

    I only need another copy of LoD yeah , I can use original diablo on second machine and a new LoD will give it a new CD key , which is what B.net looks for ?

    Cheers .
     
  9. nurman

    nurman IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,365
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    350
    Re: Playing 2 copies

    No you need two PAIRS. 2x Classic keys and 2x Expansion keys.
     
  10. Nodders

    Nodders IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Re: Playing 2 copies

    Okey doke cheers m8 , now to find a cheap pair :)
     
  11. Gorny

    Gorny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    27,850
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Playing 2 copies

    Just be aware that you're running two copies on the same machine at your own risk. Blizzard maintains that the only legal way to run multiple instances is with one machine per copy of the game.
     
  12. nurman

    nurman IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,365
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    350
    Re: Playing 2 copies

    To my knowledge they haven't banned anyone for it yet, if you do not include people using modfied dll's to achieve this.
     
  13. Gorny

    Gorny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    27,850
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Playing 2 copies

    I wasn't saying that they did...just pointing that they never meant for it, don't endorse, condone, support or suggest it. Hence the you're on your own warning.



     

Share This Page