Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Picking out a new laptop

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Mystik, Jun 25, 2005.

1. Mystik

Mystik IncGamers Member

Picking out a new laptop

Hi everyone!

I'm spending my last few months at home as I will be moving out at the end of the summer to attend university! I'm taking Space Engineering at York Univeristy if anyone is interested. Back to the point...

My parents said they will spend $1500-2000 cnd. on a laptop for me. I've never owned a laptop and I don't know much about them. I know lots about computers, I'm just kind of new to laptops. I need some help picking one out. It will be mostly for schoolwork, msn, email, etc; however, I was hoping to get one that I could still play games on. I don't know if this is true but I heard (a long time ago) that some kinds of laptops just suck for games but I'm clueless. Oh ya, I also need it to be wireless!

Could someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks.

2. Chynobi

Chynobi IncGamers Member

What kind of games?

3. masterazn

masterazn Banned

I strongly recommend getting an apple laptop. I recently acquired one, switching from Windows was a blast, the system is very stable. I've only played Warcraft III on it so far, but mine sports a 128mb RADEON 9700 Mobility. It runs at 1.62Ghz and can hold a total of 2Gb of RAM. I think it does fine for games...and it's great for work and stuff.

4. Rius666

Rius666 IncGamers Member

An apple might not be a bad choice in the sense that they can definitely get the job done and are pretty user friendly. However know that if you are getting an apple you will pay more money for similar performance and also if you are into games at all the apple selection of games/compatible software for games is much more slim than the PC side. However if you only care about one or 2 games, such as wc3 then its up to u.