Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

/P8 not working?

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Community Forum' started by Yurameshi, May 17, 2008.

  1. Yurameshi

    Yurameshi IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    /P8 not working?

    Hey, maybe u guys can help me out, playing through single player. I type in /players 8 and nothing happens. any1 know why?
     
  2. stephan

    stephan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: /P8 not working?

    You are typing it in the chat dialog right? If you don't type it correctly you should at least see a chat message.

    You have also updated to the latest version?
     
  3. Road Ratt

    Road Ratt IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Re: /P8 not working?

    If you are playing version 1.11 it's /players8 with no space.

    Welcome to the forums. :wave:
     
  4. rykuss

    rykuss Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: /P8 not working?

    I play 1.11b Single Player and it works either way, /players 8 or /players8. What version are you playing? Some links to help you out, SPF FAQ and the Single Player Forum.
     
  5. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Re: /P8 not working?

    /players 8
    only works on sp, lan, open and tcp/ip (only from the host on multiplayer games)

    does not work on bnet realms, ladder/nl
     
  6. superjayson

    superjayson IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,520
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: /P8 not working?

    /players 10, 11 and 8935789243578435 work too. although it will it will still show players 8 ;p



     
  7. huldu

    huldu IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: /P8 not working?

    I just started playing diablo 2 with eastern sun and i cant get /players8 or /players 8 to work. Clicking enter, writing in either of the above, the console says: Players set to 8, but nothing really happens.

    The mobs i kill currently gives the same experience no matter what. ES is suppose to support up to 16 /players but couldnt get that to work.

    Is there something you need to do to get the command to actually "activate"?
     
  8. Are

    Are IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: /P8 not working?

    Well, only monsters that spawn after you type in the command are actually modified (the game spawns monsters about 2 screens away from you at a time).

    The /players commands did not work in one of the older versions, but I can't remember which one(s) right now.

    For help with Eastern Sun specifically, I suggest you visit the phrozenkeep forums. There's an entire ES forum there.
     
  9. huldu

    huldu IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: /P8 not working?

    Hm weird, im using 1.12b i believe(latest patch anyway). Cant say i see any difference in the difficulty on the mobs with /players1 or 8, ive tried various ways and nothing seems to work.
     
  10. Mursilis

    Mursilis IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Do you get the response "Players set to 8" after you type in the command? If not then it didn't take effect.
     
  11. huldu

    huldu IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: /P8 not working?

    Yes it says Players set to 8. But i really cant see any difference between players1-8, monsters and experience are the same?
     
  12. Mursilis

    Mursilis IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Then it's activated. You may simply be too overpowered to notice as monsters HP goes up along with the experience you gain and the number of items that drop. Do you at least see more items falling?
     
  13. krischan

    krischan Europe Trade Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    29,594
    Likes Received:
    761
    Trophy Points:
    416
    Re: /P8 not working?

    It affects only those monsters which haven't been generated so far. For example, if you stand next to Baal and you type /players 8, he won't change, but if you do it before entering the Worldstone Chamber, he will become the 8 player version.
     
  14. DarwinJim

    DarwinJim IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Re: /P8 not working?

    I've noticed this too on some occasions in Single Player with 1.12 patch. /players 8 in chat and I see the message "Players set to 8" in the upper left of the screen. But there is no difference in number of mobs or difficulty. Turn it on in town, go through teleporter, turn it on again, fight a bit and turn it on some more. Still no joy.

    Then, other times it seems to work.
     
  15. Urizen

    Urizen IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: /P8 not working?

    I have the same problem. I played tcp/ip game with a friend and we're both using 1.11b version. In Act II we used /players 8 command and got "Players set to 8" in the upper left corner. But nothing changes!!! We entered the command immediately when we started the game, so there were no already spawned monsters. We tried it a couple more times and eventually gave up.

    We played with players 8 command on versions 1.09 and earlier, and it always worked. I read somewhere that the players 8 command doesn't work on versions after 1.09. Does someone knows anything about this? Is it true?
     
  16. wickedswami

    wickedswami IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Re: /P8 not working?

    slightly related question: does anyone know, if you put /players 8 on, then save&exit, then rejoin, is it still on? Because it seems to be with me, i'm just not 100% sure.
     
  17. Gorny

    Gorny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    27,850
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: /P8 not working?



    I thought it had to be re done for every game?



     
  18. wickedswami

    wickedswami IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Re: /P8 not working?

    i thought so too, but it seems to stay on for me...
     
  19. Mursilis

    Mursilis IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    It's always stayed. Stays until you close out of the program completely.
     
  20. TenYearsGone

    TenYearsGone IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: /P8 not working?

    Nice bump on a 1 year old thread from started by a guy with a post count of 1 and bumped by a guy with a post count of 1.

    Just sayin...
     

Share This Page