Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

OT - Windows XP and 98 dual install

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by Borlag, Jan 30, 2004.

  1. Borlag

    Borlag IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    165
    OT - Windows XP and 98 dual install

    Well, even though I hold courses on these OS's and many others, I've never actually tried this before. So...last night I installed the XP on my computer and I'd like to get 98 running as second OS. However the boot menu doesn't show the other at all even though both OS's are on separate harddrives with their own MDR. Both work as such, only that I'd have to do a bit of jumper switching as it is now.

    What I'm wondering is that how would I go in adding that into the boot menu? I tried looking at the booting options and it wasn't even listed there as an option. Anyone with experience on this?

    OT in an OT thread...damn I wish I'd have LILO for this :teeth:
     
  2. Stargaze

    Stargaze IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    98
    How should one OS know of the other if you have set them up on different Disks with their own MBRs?

    But you should be able to manually add the Win98 to the Boot Menu of WinXP; I managed to do so with Linux booted from a WinNT Boot Menu. I think you can copy the line calling XP in the boot.ini and replace the appropriate disk/rdisk/... numbers with those required by Win98. But then, I never did it that way with Win9x.

    Easier way would be to install Win98, then install XP (wherever you wish, but booting from the same disk). It recognizes Win98 and puts it into the boot.ini automatically. At least it did so for me.
     
  3. Randall

    Randall IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Borlag,

    it's all in the system properties. I have a German XP (running out of the 30day licence in 3 days. But it works now.)

    - Right-click the My Computer and ask for the properties.
    - Select the Tab "Erweitert" (must be something like "Extended" in English)
    There is a "Startend und wiederstellen" (in english start and reboot/restore)
    - Click the Properties button in this section
    If you are lucky it can be selected in here
    If not
    - click the "Bearbeiten" button in the top section and a boot.ini file is open for edit.

    Randall

    PS.
    I can mail a screenshort of the stuff

    EDIT: How to edit this boot.ini thing to see the second disk, I am not sure though. But there seem to be enough properties to test:

    [boot loader]
    timeout=15
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(3)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect
     
  4. Borlag

    Borlag IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    165
    This is the exact thing that I've done, apart from the manual editing of the file.

    so if I understood that right, the first line has the default which is NT for you, multi 0 is unknown to me, disk 0 means 1 IDE master, rdisk is what? Root disk? Partition is self explanatory.

    So if I have 2 hard drive system would my configuration be like this:

    [boot loader]
    timeout=xx
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WinXP
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect
    multi(0)disk(1)rdisk(1)partition(1)\Windows="Microsoft WIndows 98 Second Edition" /fastdetect

    does that look about right?
     
  5. Randall

    Randall IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Hi,

    It's a Win2000 :)

    It is the multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0) I do not know as well, that's why yahoo is invented :)

    Sources you can check:

    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=289022
    http://www.nu2.nu/bootdisk/ntboot/

    According to this second site it must be:

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="NT, First harddisk, first partition" /sos
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINNT="NT, First harddisk, second partition" /sos
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(3)\WINNT="NT, First harddisk, third partition" /sos
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(4)\WINNT="NT, First harddisk, fourth partition" /sos
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINNT="NT, Second harddisk, first partition" /sos
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(2)\WINNT="NT, Second harddisk, second partition" /sos
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(3)\WINNT="NT, Second harddisk, third partition" /sos
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(4)\WINNT="NT, Second harddisk, fourth partition" /sos

    Meaning your disk(1) setting seems to be incorrect.

    Randall
     
  6. Borlag

    Borlag IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    165
    hmm what about the file system? I have XP installed on NFTS and Win98 on FAT32, will I still be able to get this to work with that boot disk (the site you copied that from said it's for a bootdisk)?
     
  7. Randall

    Randall IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    My guess would be that you need to have this:

    [boot loader]
    timeout=xx
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WinXP
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\Windows="Microsoft WIndows 98 Second Edition" /fastdetect

    They do not note anything of the filesystems or OS at all. I have a dual boot XP/98 at home as well, if you have plenty of time I'll post the boot.ini file of that one as well somewhere in the weekend. It is win32/Win98 and Ntfs/WinXp both on the same disk but different partitions.

    Randall
     
  8. ricrestoni

    ricrestoni IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Personal experience, not a highly technical one:

    I had a HD with Win98, and bought another one wich became master, with win XP NTFS. I also installed Linux in another partition of this HD, with a boot manager to switch between Linux / XP.

    Then I removed Linux from my machine, and Partition magic managed to get a Windows partition where once Linux ruled. But I wasn't able to remove the Boot Manager from it, neither to make it start on Win XP as default.

    When I need to start Win98 (mainly to play the nice Sega Genesis emulator 8-P), I go for the Bios Setup and make it start up from drive D. It works, but it is not practical for daily use and heavy switching.

    Oh, and also the win 98 will not recognize a NTFS partition, no mather what I will do.
     
  9. Borlag

    Borlag IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Hmm, I believe you can't see the XP side from the 98 though, as 98 doesn't have any support for NTFS, this doesn't matter to me though, just need to know for 100% certainty that it works otherwise.
     
  10. Randall

    Randall IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    I do not have this situation somewhere on a machine, I can not give a 100% certainty.

    If both operating systems are installed allready, you could try it on a bootdisk first. If it is not working, you only have a bad bootdisk.

    Randall
     
  11. TrenShadow

    TrenShadow IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    42
    I'm pretty sure the boot.ini line for Win98 should read something like "X:\Windows" rather than the multipart naming scheme... Try searching Microsoft.com for boot.ini - Technet's the section you want.

    Other thing to ensure is the on the Win98 HDD, the partition needs to be marked as Active.

    -edit- Oh yeah, Win98 can't read NTFS partitions without a third party addon program. You should be able to find at least a trialware version of such somewhere, dunno about a freeware though. My solution when I used to multiboot (straight XP now) was to create 3 partitions - NTFS for XP/2k, FAT32 for Win98 and a FAT32 Shared Data partition. I had it configured so that both OSes though they were installed into C:, data drive was D: and the other wasn't visible (unmounted the 98 partition in XP). Although, you could just use a directory on the 98 drive as the shared area.
     
  12. Borlag

    Borlag IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    165
    yea but that'd mean that I'd have to put a disk drive there in the first place, thus removing one of the hard drives that I have as storages :p

    120GB #1, Windows XP + programs and games
    120Gb #2, Installation packages, patches and other useful packages
    120GB #3 mp3's
    60Gb #1 Windows 98
    60Gb #2 currently empty, was used as backup drive...

    heh...so you see I'm running out of room there already :p
     
  13. Randall

    Randall IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Hi,

    I would advice you to make 2 very small partitions on the first disk drive (each like 2 or 3 GB) and use these for the OS. Then install all other stuff on the other partitions/disks. If the other partitions/disks are fat32 you can share them between 98 and XP.

    In case of a currupt OS you can just wipe out the small partition (with a format) and freshly install without real hurt. If you copy the installation CD's of windows on one of the disk drives you can reinstall always and quickly.

    Randall

    PS.
    I only have 11GB total spread among 3 physical disks (2 IDE and one SCCI).
    Then again MP3's do not interest me and movies I like I just by the DvD, D2 is just about the only game I have time for. (Any of the newer games do not run on my system anyways). StarCraft runs great to.
     
  14. TrenShadow

    TrenShadow IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    42
    Sharing installed programs can be a recipe for disaster unless you're very very careful (and even you can have problems). Most programs aren't made up of just the files in the Program Files directory, but need registry entries, .ini/.dll/etc in the respective windows directories. If you were careful to install each into both OSes, then patch them simultaneously you might get away with it, but IMO isn't worth the hassle.

    Sharing saved data however - that's all good :D
     
  15. Randall

    Randall IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    TrenShadow: You are right offcourse. Do not share applications.
    (except for a few none really work from multiple OS's, I think ATMA works fine on both though)

    I use win98 for gaming only and I do not install anything else in here. It runs without problems for a long time now.
    I use winXP for applications / development / whatever.

    This way I do not use any application double but I can get to everything if I want to.

    Randall
     

Share This Page