Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

OT: New computer

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by SnakeEye85, Apr 11, 2005.

  1. SnakeEye85

    SnakeEye85 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    OT: New computer

    heya everyone!
    Ordered this computer today. What do you think about it?

    MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum nForce4 Ultra 4DDR-DIMM 4PCI 3PCIe SATA Raid Audio
    2xGB-LAN Firewire Socket939 ATX


    AMD Athlon64 "Winchester" 90nm 3200+ 2000MHz/2.0GHz 512kb Boxed (with
    cpu-cooler!) Socket939


    1024 RAM

    Hightech Excalibur ATI Radeon X800XL Turbo ICE-Q 256Mb DDR3 TV-out DVI
    RETAIL PCI Express


    Antec SLK3700AMB Super Midi Tower Metallic Bronze 350W ATX


    36gig raptor sata disk 10k rpm, dvd burner.

    Wasnt sure if i was going with the ati X800LE or a nivida 6800GT but since i probarbly wont be using SLI i thought this was more priceworthy.


    *happy* :clap:
     
  2. Chimaira

    Chimaira IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    That's a seriously nice computer..makes me very jealous:) but on the other hand 95% of my playing time consists of Diablo II so an upgrade isn't really necessary...Sorry I have to say this so I can pretend I don't want a sweet computer like yours. I've heard the 6800GT is better than the x800 but I'm kind of a newb..Shouldn't matter too much anyway.

    Congratulations...how much did it cost?

    Ps: Isn't 36GB Hard drive a bit small?
     
  3. Toppo

    Toppo IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Who cares about comp specs*? Stop lurking, post more, n00beyes :p

    @Chimaira: I think SnakeEye meant 360 GeeBees...


    *I feel so inferior right now

    Edit: I have been corrected... SnakeEye is even more nubby now :lol:
     
  4. pantera

    pantera IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    42
    No, the Raptor series are only 36 and 74 GB. But are the fastest SATA Hard disks...
     
  5. AndiDi

    AndiDi IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Why did you order such a fast turning HDD? It must be noisy as hell.

    Isn't it possible to be faster with two 7.2k RPM HDD joined together to a RAID 0 (Stripe)? The 10k RPM is faster when it comes to seek times, but everything else?

    Other than that. Very nice computer setup.

    Please keep us posted when it arrives. I'm especially interested how loud it is.
     
  6. Stargaze

    Stargaze IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    98
    1st, you can simply put the drive in a silencing/cooling cabinet. The good ones block ~95% of the noise. I use a Silentmaxx HDD drive silencer, and the only time I hear the drive is when it powers up (admittedly with a 7.200 rpm drive).

    2nd, with the graphics card and CPU premounted fans, you usually don't have to think about HDD noise much. As long as you don't use big, low-frequency fans for CPU and chassis and possibly a passive cooler for the GPU, those minifans usually produce more noise than the rest of the machine.
     
  7. Masas

    Masas IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Nice PC. But the new PCs don't have something that old ones do. I still remeber my first PC
    Pentium1 166Mhz
    32MB RAM
    2MB VRAM (Cirrus logic)
    1.5GB HD
    ~40x CD-ROM (was the PWNAGE in those days)
    Oh memories...
     
  8. DeathMaster

    DeathMaster IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Yes, but no one in his/her right mind would use this setup only. RAID 0 is very risky, one drive gone, all data gone. the more drives you have, the higher the risk.

    RAID 0 is good for temp storage only (eg. Video editing, you use RAID 0 doing the work, for its speed, and save the result on DVD/other HDD once the work is done. Then you clean it out, start new work ...).

    @S_E85: great machine, but is it too good for D2? it is waste of power, you know.
     
  9. SnakeEye85

    SnakeEye85 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Chimaira - Thankyou :) Im paying 10602 swedish KR for this toy. That seems to be 1 481,45 US$. But then i get more than i listed. Ms Intellimouse Explorer4.0, Headset, 160GB seagate IDE, delivery....

    6800GT is slightly better than X800XL but would cost me about 140 US$ more. If i wanted to clock my computer then i would have bought the 6800gt but i probarbly wont, in a long time. And the ATI card is still better in some games.

    36 is kinda small but today im not using up all my 80GB. With this new computer i get 160 new (makes it 240) + the 36gb raptor. Would be enough for me.
    As someone already said, raptor is fast.

    Toppo - yeah maybe i should hehe But im not playing d2 anymore. Just visit this forum from time to time to se that you are doing ok.
    nupe no 360 geebees :p

    AndiDi - its not that noicy at all. To be honest i dont know much about Raid and wont go into that.

    about the rest of the computer, i dont think it will be that noicy. Antec make good stuff!

    Masas - thats one ubar computer but i think ill stick with this one :D

    DeathMaster - yeah i know. But i´ll probarbly play HL2, farcry, CS:S, WoW etc etc. And some D2 just to se how it runs. I have never played d2 without tons of lagg, never :)
     
  10. AndiDi

    AndiDi IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    If you use RAID 0 for anything besides temporary storage, you have to do backups very often (like once a week) and save your daily work onto another machine.

    In all the time that I use computers (~15 years) I have only seen a couple of drives fail. Mostly after they were older than 3 years (when warranty is void). The most defects could be detected before they died.

    @SnakeEye85: What are you using this 36GB HDD for?
     
  11. NSXdreamer

    NSXdreamer IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    As long as you are not running d2 in d3d mode you won't notice a difference. If you do however, god have mercy on your video card...

    Even my 6800GT get smacked down to as low as 10ish fps in wsk runs if multiple casters are present while running in d3d mode. Ddraw on the other hand 75 fps always, no sweat. Shame on you blizzard for the crappy programming.
     
  12. Shagsbeard

    Shagsbeard IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Nice machine... It'll be about 5-7 years before you'll want a replacement. If you stretch it, you might even make 10.

    I'm getting sick of noise from mine. Reading above about the "hard drive silencer"... is that something I can add on to my existing machine?
     
  13. Stargaze

    Stargaze IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Sure, but you have to have an internal 5.25" slot free. You simply build the HDD into the silencer module and then the module into the 5.25" slot instead of the usual HDD slot.

    This is how it looks like.
     
  14. SnakeEye85

    SnakeEye85 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Will use it for Windows and couple of programs/games i will be running alot.
     
  15. DeathMaster

    DeathMaster IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    I had worked for years to see how things fail. So I know RAID 0 should be avoid at all cost. The fact is, the more drives you have, the "faster" you have a RAID 0, but the most likely you will lose everything on it, just because one drive decided to die.

    In the time I do hand-on work to computers (and alike), I have seen too many failed hard drives, one of my friend (a really good techo) lost 4 drives at once (extreme bad luck), believe it or not (RAID 0+1 didn't save him).

    RAID 0 is commonly agreed to be used:

    1) whom don't care about data security, speed is everything
    2) whom want speed and backup everything (at least daily), and not affarid to start over & lost data
    3) need fast storage for temp project (video editing most likely), the final result will be saved else where, and no OS, Apps will be ever run on RAID 0. The best example is to setup a RAID 0, and use it as working folder/drive, the programs... etc are all on different drives (eg boot drive).

    There are many more options to back up, like external hard drive, blank DVD (cheap, yet the best for home user).
     
  16. SnakeEye85

    SnakeEye85 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Yeah ill probarbly have it for a long time. Just need to upgrade it from time to time. Maybe ill play around and try to clock it later when it starts to get slow.
    I have heard other people buying similar system and they have had no problem with noise from it. But once i get everything up and running, ill se how it sounds. Might change some stuff and make it more quiet if needed.
     
  17. DeathMaster

    DeathMaster IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    I can confirm it is not noisy, but you can still hear it at close range. You should not need to quiet.

    Only problem is that 36G won't last you too long (you know it is really only 33G), you will need to buy more. ever considered 400G drive yet ;)
     
  18. Toppo

    Toppo IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    WTF? How much porn can one have? :eek:

    (I'm using 'bout 5 of 40GBs hd - and there's porn :D )
     
  19. SnakeEye85

    SnakeEye85 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Yeah thats true, its not really 36G and 33G ain´t much. But i still have my old 80G, and i ordered another 160G. Thats more than enough for me.

    And its great to hear that its not noisy. Is that when its under pressure?
     
  20. DeathMaster

    DeathMaster IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    466
    So, you can have a lot of pr0n? :D

    As I said, you will be able to hear it, but not noisy by my book.
     

Share This Page