Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

OT: Networking Help Needed 2k/xp

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by MrNiceGuyCRB, Feb 10, 2004.

  1. MrNiceGuyCRB

    MrNiceGuyCRB IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    OT: Networking Help Needed 2k/xp

    Ok, I installed XP onto my computer. Now, there are 4 computers networked at my house (2 now have XP, 2 have 2000). The problem is no one can get onto my computer, but I can get onto theirs. I haven't tried the other XP one, but the 2 win2k ones can't. I want to install XP on the other gaming computer (since I got 2 COA's courtesy of my High School ^^), but I can't copy stuff over.

    I have the right workgroup and stuff.. and I type in the correct user name from the other computers, but it still won't work. Any idea why the win2k machines can't get on to my comp, but I can get onto theirs? Also, my username is Charlie (my name) and there is no password. I am the only user and I am the administrator. I had a password on it, then removed it, then put it back on etc.. but nothing would work.

    Thank you,
    MrNiceGuy
     
  2. Pucho

    Pucho Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    seems like you dont have the resources shared, dont know
    I've had no problems with that
     
  3. MrNiceGuyCRB

    MrNiceGuyCRB IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    What exactly do you mean?
     
  4. erimatbrad

    erimatbrad IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Have you tried running the Home Networking wizard in XP? If you right click on the folder and choose 'sharing' and then Network Setup Wizard, sometimes that will make sharing actually work again...
     
  5. MrNiceGuyCRB

    MrNiceGuyCRB IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Ok, I got it fixed.. some remote access XP crapola. Now I get to reformat another computer (I've done this 4-5 times the past day.. GRR)

    Thanks,
    MrNiceGuy
     
  6. Pucho

    Pucho Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    forget it, I was too late :teeth:
     

Share This Page