Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Odd copy protection

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Hatsepsut, Jan 29, 2004.

  1. Hatsepsut

    Hatsepsut Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Odd copy protection

    I bought this DVD and instead of playing, it displays an error msg that it will not play when TV-out is enabled due to copy protection...???

    It even refuses to play on the computer screen, spitting the same annoying error at me.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. publius

    publius IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Was it a foreign DVD? They may come with a different region encoding:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVD#Region_codes

    Other than that I can't think of any other copy-protection out there, unless of course the MPAA equivalents have come out with some new scheme.
     
  3. DurfBarian

    DurfBarian IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,707
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    467
    What's the DVD? Are there any copy-protection logos on the box? There are ways around anything; give us some clues so we can help you around the barriers the iodiots have placed between you and your movie.
     
  4. Carnage-DVS

    Carnage-DVS IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    346
    Those barriers are there for a good reason.To prevent illegal immigrants from coming into our country,stealing our jobs and our women,and watching our dvds.
     
  5. masterazn

    masterazn Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,025
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you try on a DVD player instead of your computer?
     
  6. Hatsepsut

    Hatsepsut Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No logos and it's not foreign....:confused: I bought it at a petrol station near my house. I unfortunately only have the one DVD that's in my computer so I can't test it on a standalone player. It won't play with PowerDVD or Windows media player. All I get is this annoying: "This copy protected disc cannot be played when the TV out function is enabled". Error code F4D41436, btw... >< This is freaking ridiculous.
     
  7. Mad Merlin

    Mad Merlin IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    If I remember correctly, this is a "feature" in the official ATI video drivers, in that they will refuse to play DVD video if you have TV-Out enabled. Mind you I'm not really sure how you'd go about disabling it enough to play your DVD, as I don't use the win32 binaries with my Radeon.
     
  8. Kitana

    Kitana IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Probably some copy-protection l ikek you say, because you know... even though the DVD sales jumped through the roof for 2003, there's still that pesky black market problem.

    Link for 2003 DVD Sales
     
  9. Starfishied

    Starfishied IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Do you have any nearby friend or neighbor with a DVD player that you can borrow? Or if you got a PS2 or Xbox, give it a try. I don't remember seeing this error before. Only the wrong region thingy message.
     
  10. Hatsepsut

    Hatsepsut Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The thing that make this even more annoying is that all the DVD's I rent I can watch no problem but first time I actually buy one I get this crap...arrgghhh

    On a side note, I found a program called DVD X Ghost which sounds like it would do the trick. Now I just have to get it...

    Thanks for the tips, guys. :)
     
  11. Choogy

    Choogy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Was it used or already opened? Cause someone may have bought it and made a copy and placed the copy in there...

    I'd say its just cause its a gas station movie...like their bathrooms, its all sh**ty
     
  12. BasTyra

    BasTyra IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    99
  13. nnndave

    nnndave IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,542
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    346
    Yeah thats what I always do. Just copy paste the error message into yahoo or google. Chances are lots of people get the same messages and you will probably land in a forum somewhere where people are talking about it and know solutions.
     
  14. Hatsepsut

    Hatsepsut Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you Bas, dear. :) I'll check those links out. What DVD X Ghost did was replace the error message with another, saying that the disc is damaged...*sigh*

    edit: This is insane.

    I sure am. GRRR. My card has the Conexant CX25870. So I guess my options from here are downloading older drivers or changing DVD player.... *SIGH*
     
  15. BasTyra

    BasTyra IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    99
    Bugger, bum, poo!
     
  16. Anakha1

    Anakha1 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    10,368
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now that is a siggable statement! Quoth the Bassy...
     
  17. masterazn

    masterazn Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,025
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  18. BasTyra

    BasTyra IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    99
    MA, I dont think anandtech.com and diabloii.net are in competition with one another considering they are forums for two totally different subjects.

    *pats you on the back*
     

Share This Page