Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Now my RAM is killing me

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Dondrei, May 21, 2008.

  1. Dondrei

    Dondrei IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36,855
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Now my RAM is killing me

    So while I was picking up my new monitor I grabbed a couple of RAM chips. I have an older motherboard so I can only take DDR-1 RAM, so I thought I'd better get some while I could still find them. My computer currently has two 256Mb Kingston DDR-1 RAM chips (KVR400X64C3AK2/512), to that I was going to add the two 1Gb Kingston DDR-1 RAM chips (KVR400X64C3A/1G) I bought.

    First attempt:

    Plug the two 1Gb chips in with the two 256Mb chips. Result: computer makes it to the XP boot screen and then resets.

    Second attempt:

    Remove the two old 256Mb chips, leaving only the two 1Gb chips. Result: monitor says no signal (bizarre, and no I didn't jog a cable or something, I checked and as soon as I changed the chips it worked again).

    Third attempt:

    Put just one 256Mb chip back in. Result: got past the boot screen, got into XP and thought I was in the money. A few minutes later, the computer resets.

    Fourth attempt:

    Pull out one 1Gb chip, leaving one 256Mb and one 1Gb chip in. Result: computer makes it to XP boot screen and resets again.

    Fifth attempt:

    Put everything back the way it was, two 256Mb chips in and no 1Gb chips. Result: everything is back to normal, working perfectly.

    So I'm stumped. It seems like it just doesn't like the 1Gb chips, but I can't figure out why and its reactions are strange. Does anyone know what is causing this?
     
  2. {KOW}Spazed

    {KOW}Spazed Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    11,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    What is the model of your motherboard?
     
  3. Thelioness

    Thelioness IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,498
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    Your computer hates you.
     
  4. Skutters

    Skutters IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    It could be a dual-channel issue. Some motherboards with dual-channel RAM don't like running 3 sticks of RAM.
     
  5. WildBerry

    WildBerry IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    Did you try with a single 1GB? The issue might be the new RAM, yes, but I'd still try that. It helped with one of the older configs I had.

    Damned if I know why, though.
     
  6. buttershug

    buttershug IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    8,207
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    My mobo at home is limited to 1 gig.
     
  7. 5Ws

    5Ws Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    He tried two sticks...



     
  8. Skutters

    Skutters IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    Dual-Channel motherboards typically only allow 2 identical sticks (which works for him), but doesn't usually like 2 different sticks (256MB and 1024MB) which didn't work.

    Dondrei, is it possible for you to try 2 x 1GB sticks?


     
  9. WildBerry

    WildBerry IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    I interpret his second try as that.

    That said, I'd still try if one of the new chips works solo. 1GB is more than 512MB.

    And Dondrei, I also suggest updating your measly bits into mighty bytes. More bang for the buck :laugh:



     
  10. AeroJonesy

    AeroJonesy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    Did you make sure to buy Australian RAM? I heard it spins the other way down there.
     
  11. WildBerry

    WildBerry IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    No, he spins it manually to fix it though.



     
  12. krischan

    krischan Europe Trade Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    29,427
    Likes Received:
    724
    Trophy Points:
    416
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    That's the question...

    Perhaps your motherboard doesn't work at all with 1 GB sticks. Perhaps you have to set up a few jumpers properly.



     
  13. rykuss

    rykuss Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    Are you running the latest drivers for your mobo? Are you sure it'll handle 1GB or more?
     
  14. Holysinner

    Holysinner IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    Try with only one 1GB module installed (no 256MB), then swap it out for the other. It's possible you got one bad new stick. In attempt #4 you tried with one 1GB and one 256MB, but you don't indicate that you then pulled the 1GB and tried with the other.

    The spec sheets for the two kits (256MB 1GB) show they are nearly identical but for capacity, so there's no compatibility issue between them, so Spazed is on the right track asking for the MB model to see if it has some specific quirk.

    Edit: Wow, lots o' posts while I was reading other threads/typing.
     
  15. Sokar Rostau

    Sokar Rostau IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    Just to dispense with the obvious... when you tried the two 1Gb sticks by themselves were they in the 1 & 2 slots or did you leave them in 3 & 4?
     
  16. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    some mobo ram slots start at 0-3

    using your 2x1g dimms
    see if you can get to bios, then adjust your ram timing to match the spec sheets
     
  17. Kijya

    Kijya IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    It should all be clear if you can find a manual for your motherboard, or if any info is to be found at the developers homepage.

    It's not always to easy to get the setup right, for instance on my mobo I have to take into consideration if the ram is single or dual sided.
     
  18. Hatsepsut

    Hatsepsut Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    I have similar issues, though with ddr2, I have 2 1gig sticks and 2 512MB ones, constant reboots on startup.

    Check the memory speed imo, not sure if this matters all that much, it's more likely that it doesn't like diff types/speeds. Then again, if that were the case it should run with 2x1gig, yes could depend on which slots they are in. Might want to try memtest86 also.
     
  19. ModeratelyConfused

    ModeratelyConfused Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,982
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    The one time we need information from him and he's not posting...
     
  20. Dondrei

    Dondrei IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36,855
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Re: Now my RAM is killing me

    Yeah, I was afraid it was a motherboard thing, I'll look through my manual. I hope it's not a problem with total capacity, although that would be weird because it didn't work even with 1Gb + 256Mb, which a motherboard of that time should be able to handle (and it's not an el cheapo motherboard).

    Gigabyte 8IPE 1000 Pro 2.

    That was no. 2 I think.

    You just plug it in upside down, duh.

    I left them, my slots look like this:

    GP GP

    They're colour-coded green and purple to indicate dual channels. I had the two 1Gb chips in the purple slots.

    Hmm, you could be on to something there, my old chips were one-sided and the new ones are two-sided. I sure hope it's just a jumper or something.

    From the version numbers on the chips I pasted in above the old chips seem to be 400s, same as the new ones (which surprised me). I think that only indicates the top speed they're rated for anyway.

    Posted before going to bed, had work during the day...



     

Share This Page