Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Newbie here! Can anyone help?

Discussion in 'Diablo 3 General Discussion' started by Gavindale Marchovia, Mar 27, 2016.

1. Gavindale Marchovia

Gavindale Marchovia IncGamers Member

Hey guys, a newbie to Diablo 3 here! Can anyone give me any suggestions about the game that could help me dive right in? I have played Diablo II but I have heard great things about Diablo 3, and want to join in on the action!

2. Mage Slayer

Mage Slayer IncGamers Member

The single most important tip for playing D3 I can give you is that the first thing you must do when you start the game is go into Options > Gameplay and tick enable elective mode and advanced tooltips. Without elective mode you are restricted to one skill from each category, and the default tooltips are useless.

3. Gavindale Marchovia

Thanks so much!

4. Dacar92

Dacar92 Community, Amazon, DH Moderator & Inc Clan Officer

also play through the story once. Then go to Adventure mode. It's worth getting a taste of what they intended the story to be but you only need to hear/see it once.

what class do you intend to play first?

5. Gavindale Marchovia

whats the difference between story mode and adventure mode? And I haven't started the game yet, so I don't know what the classes are. But I plan on getting into it probably tonight or tomorrow.

6. Mage Slayer

In story mode you play through the story/quests in a linear fashion. Adventure mode offers bounties (random quests), nephalem rifts (random dungeons) and greater rifts (timed random dungeons with infinite difficulty scaling). You'll end up spending most of your time in Adventure, but you'll need to play through the full story once to unlock Adventure mode in non-season.

7. Gavindale Marchovia