Lifting people out of their misery.

They will fight the dark,
And lose some to its corruption.

But they will succeed,
For nothing is greater than light.

Love and hope and kindness,
Are hiding away in us.

To be unlocked,
By the one courageous enough to search for it.

I know that this is very short, but a real life problem has inspired me to write such a thing. Please go easy, for this is my first attempt at ANYTHING like this. Please leave your comments and complaints. Thank you.

Cooked

Diabloii.Net Member
I will not comment on structure: punctuation or spelling errors.

Like you, I am tired of the horrors of life but do try and look for good where I can find it. If we spend more time finding the good things, in spite of an insatiable media appetite for what is going wrong, we too can be "Heroes" of a sort.

RevenantsKnight

Diabloii.Net Member
Hrm...well, I like the direction this is headed. However, it is pretty broad, so it comes across mostly as an expression of someone's feelings. That's not a problem in and of itself, but it's not as convincing or interesting as an example, say, of someone with this mentality working through a problem and finally making it in the end. If you have any plans to make this much longer or build this into something else, such as a short story, then that would be a good opportunity to add in specific characters or situations that may help this message come alive for the reader.

Structurally, this reads almost like a prayer or something like that, and the piece itself feels smooth enough, generally. There are a few line pairs that feel a bit uneven due to differences in length or rhythm (the sixth pair is a good example,) but some of these, such as the eighth pair, actually work pretty well where they are because they draw attention. With what you have so far, I'd say there are a few points that could be neater, but it does sort of flow as it is.