Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Must not be understanding Magic Finding

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Community Forum' started by bosoxx, Sep 24, 2006.

1. bosoxx

bosoxx IncGamers Member

Must not be understanding Magic Finding

Hello!
    I'm a newbie to this forum but not to Diablo II. Been playing off and on for years. After a 9 month break i decided to come back and make a MF Assassin for fun. I caller her my "Thugassin". She's currently level 90 and built on: STR/MF/Shadow Master/Death Sentry. At last count she had about 301% total MF.

Here's the problem. In the general scheme of things i'm an idiot when it comes to character builds. 100's of players have laughed at me in-game and in-chat telling me that i couldn't build a MF character if they told me how. I guess i have to accept that because she really doesn't find a heck of a lot of anything. I can get her through most hell Acts fairly well. She can do Countess, Pit, Andy, and many other early level runs ok. Her trouble starts in Council and above. Even with an ** Hireling, she gets eaten alive. In Act III and above pretty consistently. Diablo and Baal runs aren't even an option. Today i took her on an Act V run against Eldriech (sp)? and the other boss near the FH. She did fine. Pindle is a different story. The skellies converged on me faster than we could kill them.

Before i start babbling out of control. Am i missing the big picture here? Is 301% MF really any better than 100%? In a total of about 200 Hell runs i've made over the last month the only uniques i've found was Arkaine's Valor and Bonesnap. But i read post after post about people finding Goldwraps, Ali Babba, Chance Guards..etc...etc.. How much of finding the good gear is really all luck and not just knowing where to hunt?