Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

meteorb - theory vs practice

Discussion in 'Newcomer Forum' started by Smorter, Oct 8, 2006.

1. Smorter

Smorter IncGamers Member

meteorb - theory vs practice

meteorb seems to be the most popular sorc sub class in my opinion.

Having tried using meteorb, I query its ease of use. The time it takes for a meteor to come down makes it a pain in the *** to play properly. I feel the same way about the weird spiral of a hammerdin.

How can such a awkward build (along with a weak (in hell) skill like Frozen orb enable a meteorb to become such a popular and supposidly viable build?

Is it just me cause I'm a noob, or do other people find it weird using meteorbs and hammerdins and such (i.e. non conventional slashers/casters)?

2. LorveN

LorveN D3 Off Topic Moderator

Maxed out orb with cold mastery isnt THAT weak. It takes some skill to aim properly with meteor, but keep in mind monsters walk right you.
    Slow them with orb, then "calculate" where to put the meteor. It has a blast radius of 4 yards, which is pretty big, so...

Meteorbs are among the more powerful builds, since they can take on both fire and cold immunes by using two elements. I guess you have to practice a little more on throwing meteors, and it will be a breeze.
    As for the hammerdins, hammers rip through anything, so if they were an easy-aim skill, that would make the game too easy. (it already is for hammerdins...)

But then, imagine a skill dishing out 20k+ pretty easy. If it didnt have a casting delay, and a time delay until impact, it would be "too good".
    A good weapon is often harder to use... :azn:

3. FrostBurn

FrostBurn IncGamers Member

I prefer a Blizzball myself, but a Meteorb is also very powerful and a lot more popular. FO is adequate, so long as you stay out of 8 player games.