Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Mercenary Equip Question

Discussion in 'Newcomer Forum' started by KJMaynard, May 20, 2008.

  1. KJMaynard

    KJMaynard IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Mercenary Equip Question

    Back when i played before, i had no idea you could actually equip a merc. Thats probably why they died super quick and I ended up soloing everything. Now that a merc can be equipped, ive heard of people placing items on them and then removing them almost like a second stash. How do you go about viewing and moving the items in a mercs inventory? Is it even possible?

    Thanks
    KM
     
  2. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Re: Mercenary Equip Question

    mercs can only hold (equip) certin weapons, shield (if using 1h wep, no shield on a5 merc), helm and armor

    to open its inventory, hover your mouse over his portrait then right click
     
  3. lionheartthebrave

    lionheartthebrave IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Mercenary Equip Question

    Or hit the O key (the letter)

    Back in the days before LoD expansion, mercs couldn't have gear, or switch between acts

    Basic tip: items on merc do not lose durability, so use eth weapons for high damage, and eth armours for high defence
     
  4. Gaenor

    Gaenor Banned

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Mercenary Equip Question

    Just a little add here. You can also buy a merc with 3 diffirent level from you and more. Before you could just level your merc, now you can buy a new merc with almost the same level as you. This was new in 1.10 Lod i think. :smiley:
     
  5. thegiantturtle

    thegiantturtle IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Mercenary Equip Question

    The hire lvl cap was removed in 1.11. You can now buy mercs up to your level minus one.



     
  6. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Re: Mercenary Equip Question

    my merc often reaches my lvl when soloing
    i know he passed me once, ill try to get a ss next time
     
  7. jaysmooth

    jaysmooth IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Mercenary Equip Question

    How do you know what weapons u can equip on a merc?
     
  8. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
  9. Jaydeeishere

    Jaydeeishere IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Re: Mercenary Equip Question

    You know that your merc cannot level higher than your right? =P


     
  10. ransom

    ransom IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Mercenary Equip Question

    --Hi, I just joined and posted my question in another sub forum here (the 1.07 version thread in the single player...wish I was smart enough to link it) anyway, in the interest of not starting another new thread here is my post:

    Greetings. I just found these forums and this thread so I promise I will keep looking for the answer to my ridiculous question---

    I have D2LOD installed--I bought the battle chest and didn't know that the version of Diablo I would get would be only shareware, oh well.

    Anyway, enjoying the game (hard to believe I hadn't bought it years ago). BUT I cannot get the "party screen" to come up! I can't give my poor little hirelings any armor, potions, etc. (Those poor girls from act 1!!!) I have actually kept the same guy in act 2--so far.

    Everything else works just fine, no problems, no issue with menu, crashes, nothing. I have tried resetting the "P" to be a different key and nothing works! I haven't been able to find any kind of "technical" help yet and end up on those forums and sites that kind of scare me (since I am a single player kind of gamer and am afraid of battlenet until I know what the heck I am doing).

    Any advice is welcome, now to start poking around this forum a bit more.

    Cheers,
    ransom

    ps yes i am playing 1.07 and i just found the noob sub forum and will post over there. i just got so excited to find a forum that wasn't a 3 year old archive.lol.
     
  11. ffejrxx

    ffejrxx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Re: Mercenary Equip Question

    the party screen doesnt work in sp

    you need to host or join a multiplayer game for the party screen to appear
    (open/closed bnet,tcp/ip)
     
  12. ransom

    ransom IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Mercenary Equip Question

    Oh, well that explains it; it is probably one of those cases where I should RTFM. Thanks for responding! I feel silly than ever. But I did learn a lot while looking for an answer--mostly learned how much I don't know!
    Thanks again.
    ransom
     
  13. thegiantturtle

    thegiantturtle IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Mercenary Equip Question

    The poster doesn't actually mean the party screen.

    ransom, press 'o' to access your merc's inventory. You must be playing the expansion to give mercs gear.



     
  14. ransom

    ransom IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Mercenary Equip Question

    Oh, yes, that is what I mean, thegiantturtle. So even though I am playing D2 from the expansion disc I can't access the merc inventory until I get through D2 as start LOD? Too bad for the mercs!
     

Share This Page