Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Map Seeds

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by Sypher, Mar 26, 2004.

  1. Sypher

    Sypher IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Map Seeds

    How do i go about finding a character's current map seed? I am itching to play MP game, but i want to keep my awsome andy map. I tryed to look everywere in ATMA. But with no success :hanky:
     
  2. Uzziah

    Uzziah IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Open your character information on the different tabs there is one that has mapseed on the left side about half way down. Sorry I don't remember the tab name (I am not on my comp.) but its the one which has the chars. name on it as an editable space.
     
  3. farting bob

    farting bob Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    as uzziah said, ATMA can tell you, but normaly there is no way of knowing in game, which is a shame i guess, but i dont mind as ATMA is here.
     
  4. Sypher

    Sypher IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    DoH! I feel stupid
    I thought it was an option on top. I found it. =]
    Now how do i put it to use? Like edit the short cut add -seed xxxxxxx IIRC
     
  5. Jezzwashere

    Jezzwashere Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    YES THAT IS CORRECT
     
  6. LprMan

    LprMan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    But remember this:

    Make sure you don't have that -seed xxxxxxx on command line while playing. It will mess up your drops and their fingerprints.

    Put that on command line, go to game, select the character who needs that seed and start game with him/her. Save&exit immediately after that, quit the whole game, remove the -seed xxxxxxx from command line and launch game again and start playing normally. This way the seed is saved to character file and random calculations of the game will work normally. This is only way that command should ever be used
     
  7. Sypher

    Sypher IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Gotya :thumbsup: Thanks for the info everyone.
     
  8. Kremtok

    Kremtok IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    What does the -seed command do to the fingerprints that "messes them up"?
     
  9. TekkaZeroX

    TekkaZeroX IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Well, the map seed sets almost all the item generations seed to that seed too. So you get the exact same item (with same mods and fingerprint) if you kill the monster the same way without doing anything else.

    I would not leave the command activated ever.
     
  10. LprMan

    LprMan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    My explanation wasn't too good ;)

    When you have that on command line, the random calculations of the game are very limited. For example if you go to Cold Plains and open a chest, it will always (at least almost) drop same items with same stats. They will have same fingerprints too, so actually they are dupes. Someone tested this when we had those seed discussions a while back. That was what I meant
     
  11. Ensis

    Ensis IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ok, I'm a little new here and have figured out what map seeds kinda do by reading this thread. But even after reading and re-reading the posts, I don't exactly know where to type the "-seed xxxxxxx"... I know where to find the seed, and I know to start the game, save, exit, and delete what I typed then re-enter the game... but where do I originally type the seed number. And do I use the dash (-) and the space when typing? Sorry for being new at this.
     
  12. MeBrutox

    MeBrutox IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Right click on the icon you use to launch Diablo, and hit the Properties. Add that command there in the command line after the c:\programs...diabloii.exe or whatever it says on you machine
     
  13. Ensis

    Ensis IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ok, found that.... now do I add the command inside or outside the quotes? And do I use the dash and space, or not? Thanks.
     
  14. chase_encode

    chase_encode IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    "C:\Program Files\Diablo II\Diablo II.exe" -seed xxxxx
    where xxxxx is your seed number.

    edit: moved quote.
     
  15. MindChild

    MindChild IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I do have something to add about map seeds and finding them out...
    those D2######.txt files are worth more than some may think.

    1. delete the current .txt file (the one with the current date)
    2. go into DiabloII.exe and open your character in a single player game
    3. exit out
    4. open the D2######.txt file you deleted (it will be recreated)
    5. look for a line similar to this:

    Code:
     
    15:54:34.007  Seed: 1827554528
    16:03:26.683  Seed: 1827554528
    16:04:19.949  Seed: 1827554528
    
    that is the seed that was used for the character :D

    and no 3rd party programs needed (and thus blizzard technically cant say "we dont support this because it isnt part of the game" )
     
  16. whomhead

    whomhead IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    just a note about the -seed command... it is generally considered to be "border-line legit" here at the SPF. many of us do not, and never will, use it. with all due respect to what you do on your own computer, please try to keep the use of this command to a minimum. for more info, check out the SPF GAT FAQ, stickied in the FAQs section on the front page.
     

Share This Page