Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

map question(s)

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by bobbittle, May 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bobbittle

    bobbittle IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    map question(s)

    So I was under the impression that maps in SP didn't change, is this correct or not?

    I had the same LK map all the way through normal diff, but once I got to NM it changed and has changed every time I load it now :undecided: Same with Andariel, countess, etc....I'm confused...
     
  2. Jaelen

    Jaelen IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Re: map question(s)

    Your maps change when you change difficulty and when you mp.
     
  3. zerth

    zerth IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: map question(s)

    Also if you want, you can recover a map using the -seed command. The map seed is visible through ATMA. I have never used it actually, but it should work. IIRC fair use of this in this forum is limited to when you press the wrong difficulty by accident.
     
  4. bassen

    bassen IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Re: map question(s)

    wouldnt that be like cheating?


    I often press wrong difficulty when I have a good map :cry:, thou the one I hve now I have been able to keep for a month. I have hard not belive that aint cheating...or do I hjave wrong this time too xD
     
  5. Neksja

    Neksja IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3,306
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    323
    Re: map question(s)

    it is not considered cheating, if you mistakenly change the difficulty and then recover the map. But if you make that to help you questing or etc, that's a big NO NO.
     
  6. bassen

    bassen IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Re: map question(s)

    so for a player that have done all quests it's "do whatever you want"?...IMO it' feels a bit wierd


     
  7. Thyiad

    Thyiad Moderator Single Player, D2 Assassin, Barbarian

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    15,298
    Likes Received:
    209
    Trophy Points:
    488
  8. bassen

    bassen IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Re: map question(s)

    to bad I havent read that before...I have lost so many good mappies =P still I dont think I will use it. seems a bit to scary :p


     
  9. Thyiad

    Thyiad Moderator Single Player, D2 Assassin, Barbarian

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    15,298
    Likes Received:
    209
    Trophy Points:
    488
    Re: map question(s)

    It's in the great big Stickied Thread at the top of this Forum labelleled SPF FAQ.

    Didn't you even read that when you joined? :rolleyes:
     
  10. muzzz

    muzzz IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: map question(s)

    Some people get dizzy after a few pages :rolleyes:
     
  11. lionheartthebrave

    lionheartthebrave IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: map question(s)

    I prefer the safer method:

    Step 1: enter wrong difficulty
    Step 2: hit the windows key, or alt tab to something else, if in full screen mode
    Step 3: hit Ctrl Alt Del to bring up the Task Manager
    Step 4: go to Applications, click on Diablo II and click the End Task button
    Step 5: after windows tells you that D2 crashed, restart it and voila...

    Also I've found that if you hit the wrong difficulty and quickly hit "W" as it starts to load, D2 crashes on its own
     
  12. Thyiad

    Thyiad Moderator Single Player, D2 Assassin, Barbarian

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    15,298
    Likes Received:
    209
    Trophy Points:
    488
    Re: map question(s)

    Skoolbus; you have recieved a warning for flaming.

    I expect people to read the stickies. Bassen is a trader and the GAT is also linked to in the Trade Rules. If you were a trader you'd know that.

    This thread is not here to show people how to abuse the seed command. The correct use is in the Stickies.

    If you have a problem I have PM box.

    :closed:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page