Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Making computer games

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Dondrei, Oct 21, 2006.

1. Dondrei

Dondrei IncGamers Member

Making computer games

I was wondering if anyone here has any experience making games. I'm thinking of doing one as a bit of a hobby, I've never done anything like this before though. I've done a bit of programming but nothing as complex as the game I'd like to make would have to be.

I'm thinking of making a platformer, but not really a classic platformer - a modern one with 3D graphics (insofar as this makes sense in a platformer). Kind of like Duke Nukem: Manhattan Project. So basically the gameplay is still 2D but the graphics are 3D (or a good imitation).

I want to get the full experience and really know what's going on in the inner workings, so I want to build it from the ground up - in C++ or something - rather than use one of those game-making utilities on the net. I realize that this may be difficult, but that's part of why it seems like a fun idea.

2. Gertlex

Gertlex Banned

Have fun thinking about it.... Not trying to be evil, but it's not a small task. Start small perhaps. I've done a couple small games, first a text based version of the card game Pyramids, and then a simple graphics based pipe game.

3. {KOW}Spazed

{KOW}Spazed Banned

I have to agree with Gert, it is really more work than you are thinking. The programming is huge, you have to get everything working together such as physics and then come up with rules for what actions effect what graphics and what objects plus come up with things like health and score etc.

Stagecast creator is probably as complex as you really want to get.

4. ModeratelyConfused

ModeratelyConfused Banned

My most 'complex' game was written in Java. It was a simple random number generator where you guessed a number, and it told you if it was higher or lower than the number it picked.